PDA

View Full Version : SimPE/ S3PE for Mac?


superennaedwyn
23rd Jun 2015, 4:44 PM
:bunny: I'd love to get back to creating custom content in Sims 4 but I have a Mac (as to when I had a PC and was able to make content then) and I'm curious to know, if anyone knows the answer to this, will there be an update for SimPE/ S3PE for Mac? If this has already been address, just direct me to the thread that talks about it. Thanks much and happy simming!
:bunny:

plasticbox
23rd Jun 2015, 9:50 PM
Moving to Create > Tools. Note that s3pe is a TS3 tool .. you probably meant s4pe.

CmarNYC
24th Jun 2015, 5:06 AM
S4pe isn't being aggressively supported at this time in the first place - and there are no plans I've heard of to port it to Mac. You might be able to run it and other tools under Mono or a Windows emulator.

superennaedwyn
30th Jun 2015, 9:50 PM
Appreciate the info/input/reply

deathBYflies
1st Jul 2015, 7:02 PM
Okay, I'm still happily playing TS2, but if this helps you...

On the current Yosemite 10.10.4, I run a basic Windows XP installation on a virtual disk in Parallels Desktop. The only reason for doing this is to occasionally run SimPE and it works just great, making up in part for the lack of an Intel Mac BodyShop. But you should be aware that SimPE isn't so much a creative tool as an editing one. In use, I found it best to edit packages out of the game folders, then transfer them back when finished; using it directly on the game folders caused a few problems. Otherwise, you can edit just about any package WITH CAUTION. Make sure everything's backed up in Time Machine!