Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Forum Resident
Original Poster
#1 Old 24th Oct 2009 at 5:07 PM
Default How to change the default patterns from the cloned objects?
Hey all...
Im quite new at meshing and all i do now is converting Sims 2 objects to Sims 3...
So far i dont have any issues but one..
When i clone an object from TS3 (for example a chair that have 2 Recolourable parts) the object that i convert after takes these specific patterns...
How can we change this?
Does anyone have a clue?
I hope i was clear (Im from Greece so my English isnt perfect )
PS:Thank you very much Cocomama!

Check my tumblr:
http://eliasctifler.tumblr.com/
:)
Advertisement
Inventor
#2 Old 24th Oct 2009 at 8:48 PM
It looks like there are different sorts of default textures.
There are ones like objects_burned and empty overlay, they all have the same numbers and are the same textures, but they do get a new instancenumber when you clone renumbered.
There also ones that have names that start with default like defaultMetal etc.
And the other ones that definitely look like patterns to me.

Taking a look in the Fullbuild2 package I think that the _IMG files are stored there, and the patterns too.

Maybe you can extract/export the default patterns (_IMGfiles) with S3PE from the TS3 clone and edit them or replace with other patterns exported from the fullbuild2.

Thats all I have for you sofar, there is much more to discover here I think

Maybe other creators already did something with replacing the patterns, and can help you further?
Screenshots
˙uʍop ǝpᴉsdn ǝɹ,noʎ 'oN
#3 Old 25th Oct 2009 at 12:03 AM
I was able to change the default patterns, but I'm not quite sure how (don't laugh). I know what I did, but I don't know exactly what made it work. So I'm sure there are some things that I did that were not needed.