Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Scholar
Original Poster
#1 Old 24th Aug 2009 at 5:20 AM
Default Online relationships?
I contemplated for some time about whether or not to post this, but I've PMed jhd1189 about it and he said it's fine as long as I don't get into anything too personal.

How do people feel about online relationships? I've had a lot of experience with them — at one point, two guys in Sydney and New Hampshire and a girl in Las Vegas were my life (the first one even had a crush on me) for over four years for all of them at the same time — but I was forced to drop everything. There's also people I had met in MMORPGs and forums.

I mean, it's sad because we can talk so much and everything, but what are you really supposed to do in the end? Does it just keep on going and going? I've heard stories about people who had online friends for up to ten years. It's hard, because sometimes the other person is just too far away. There was almost no chance of us meeting each other — ever.

Thoughts? Stories? I'm curious and I've been thinking a lot about this kind of stuff lately.
Advertisement
Field Researcher
#2 Old 24th Aug 2009 at 5:30 AM
Do you mean romantic relationships or friendships? I've had online friends that I've known for extended amounts of time. I don't think I could ever handle a romantic relationship online, though. The guy I dated before I met my fiance ended up going to a different college two and half hours away and that was even too much for me.
Lab Assistant
#3 Old 24th Aug 2009 at 5:43 AM
Friends? Most of my friends are online friends.

Romantic stuff? Oh yeah, done my share of that too, still do. No one around here wants me, so I'm adapting...

Whatever floats your boat. Having extra friends never hurt.
Scholar
Original Poster
#4 Old 24th Aug 2009 at 5:47 AM
Quote: Originally posted by girlgeek19