Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Scholar
Original Poster
#1 Old 5th May 2018 at 7:02 AM
Default What do you guys think about this plumbob fountain that I had created in Blender?
I was messing around with Blender and I was able to create this fountain with the plumbob at the top as my first real Blender project,thanks to the help of Blender Guru's Youtube videos and i'm wondering what your thoughts about are because I personally think it needs some improvements? To me it looks like a plumbob trophy sitting on top of a stand rather than an actual fountain. I apologize if I couldn't get a good view of the object in Blender,i'm still a beginner at it and I haven't quite a hang to the complex but yet simple controls of it.
Screenshots
Advertisement
Top Secret Researcher
#2 Old 5th May 2018 at 11:34 AM
It would look great as the neighborhood decoration, but as a gameplay object, it would need a lot of work.

The greatest problem I see is the flat edges... no object has a twodimensional edge. Second problem I see is shading. Easily fixable with putting it on smooth shading and splitting edges where you want them. However, before splitting edges you would need to UV unwrap the mesh, and make the UV map.

And ofcourse, the most complex thing would be texturing, which would require knowledge of materials, shading and proper use of photo-editing programs such is photoshop (though I use Paint.NET which is a free alternative).

Also, importing that into game would be quite bothersome via SimPE. I've been there and it was a messy road.
Scholar
Original Poster
#3 Old 5th May 2018 at 2:52 PM
Quote: Originally posted by mixa97sr
It would look great as the neighborhood decoration, but as a gameplay object, it would need a lot of work.