|Search this Thread|
|7th Jun 2012, 10:41 PM||Can I add a warning to a closed thread? #1|
Someone just lost their neighborhoods because of advise given in a closed thread.
Here is the problem:
Here is the closed thread that gave the (bad) advice:
Would it be possible to add a warning to the second thread, to let people know that their shipped neighborhoods may reset to their original state if they delete their Documents\EA Games\The Sims 2\Config folder? If the person just backs up their save game first, then they can restore their played neighborhoods once their other problems have been resolved.
|7th Jun 2012, 11:08 PM||#2|
Done, thanks for pointing this out.
"On the page, punctuation performs its grammatical function, but in the mind of the reader it does more than that. It tells the reader how to hum the tune." - Lynn Truss, Eats, Shoots and Leaves
|7th Jun 2012, 11:43 PM||#3|
Thanks for adding the warning. I just hate to see people lose neighborhoods, especially on advice that they find here.
|8th Jun 2012, 01:56 PM||#4|
This is most puzzling, obviously that advice was written 4 years ago, but for me deleting or editing the config file still does not impact the neighborhoods files at all.
I'm running Sims 2 with all EPs, Sps and on Win 7 and am having nothing bad happen to my EA played neighborhoods if I delete the config file. In fact, the only way I can forsee the game resetting those files to default is if they are deleted. Surely any corruption would just result in the files being unreadable, but to be reset to default implies that they are removed.
I'm curious as to why you and others are finding this to happen, Mootilda- perhaps you can explain exactly what you did, what your game setup is and what the creation date is on the hood files?
Are you using AGS or any other utility that might impact this?
Obviously to before deleting or editing files is good advice, but I'm curious as to why I can delete the config file but you cannot!
|8th Jun 2012, 02:10 PM||#5|
I would like to suggest that this discussion should really be continued in the Help thread, as discussion of the problem has nothing to do with Site Issues: