PDA

View Full Version : Tutorial for retaining animations using milkshape (Based on the foods)


fireflies
17th Aug 2006, 7:09 AM
This tutorial is not intended to teach anyone how to mesh, understand Simpe or the Unimesh Plugin
but only to show you how to work milkshape while keeping the food animations of a mesh intact while replacing a mesh and import it back into SimPe

What you will need:
A Somewhat advanced understanding of Milkshape and Simpe,
Milkshape (http://www.swissquake.ch/chumbalum-soft/)
The latest version of SimPe (http://sims.ambertation.de/index.shtml)
Wes, H's Unimesh Plugin (http://www.modthesims2.com/showthread.php?t=122399)

The first thing you need to do in Milkshape is to click the "Groups Tab" on the right and untick "Auto Smooth"
as it tends to mess the mesh up with funny lines in the mesh.

Now on to the Tutorial

We went and pulled the files for the pancakes for this tutorial so we could show you what it looks like to stack the serve plate of pancakes in one tall pile while retaining the animations for the files mesh

Lets say you want to take this stack of pancakes and make it a tall stack,
instead of one thats spread out on the serve plate.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v203/MrInvisableman/Tut%20on%20Milkshape/PancakesServe.jpg

Before we start extracting the files we will show you the "model section - names"
Notice they are

0: '
1: foodservepancakeblend, foodservepancakesnone
2:foodservepancakeblend, foodservepancakeshalf

These are your animation mesh files,

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v203/MrInvisableman/Tut%20on%20Milkshape/PancakesServe2.jpg

Ok now lets extract those files, Click the "GMDC" Foodservepancakes" Right click the file and click extract,

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v203/MrInvisableman/Tut%20on%20Milkshape/PancakesExtract.jpg

Now lets put them into a folder somewhere on your drive called Serve Pancakes,
or whatever you decide to call the folder?

Next we will extract the GMDC file called "foodcookpancakes" and place them in another file so we do not mix up the files,
we put ours in a folder called "Pancakes Cook" that way if we ever needed it again we would know where to look.

http://smg.photobucket.com/albums/v203/MrInvisableman/Tut%20on%20Milkshape/Pancakemeshtouseforstack.jpg

Next we will be importing the Pancakes Cook GMDC into Milkshape with Wes Howes Sims2 Unimesh Importer Plugin.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v203/MrInvisableman/Tut%20on%20Milkshape/pancakesinglestack.jpg

Now we need to duplicate the mesh a few times i duplicated it 4 times i believe?
click the "groups tab" and then click "select" then click "edit" "duplicate" do this three more times,
now you should have the original pancake "State" and four duplicates.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v203/MrInvisableman/Tut%20on%20Milkshape/Selectall.jpg

In the little box where it is typed "State" copy that and then click "Regroup"
make sure all the pancake files are selected or they wont all group together,
now paste the word "State" back in the box
click "Rename" that will rename it to the prior name called "state'

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v203/MrInvisableman/Tut%20on%20Milkshape/Rightclickcopyname.jpg

Now we need to import the "Serve Pancakes" into Milkshape using the unimesh importer
you will see a couple of boxes pop up just click ok on both of them
the third box will say "Create Blend Groups?" Click Yes so you get the three blends we showed you in the begining.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v203/MrInvisableman/Tut%20on%20Milkshape/Duplicate.jpg

Click on the second state in the groups window and click comment then copy it exit, then click on the first state click comment and paste that into the box then click ok,

Now Duplicate the first state two times and
Delete the second state leaving you only the first one.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v203/MrInvisableman/Tut%20on%20Milkshape/Duplicate.jpg

Now click on "01Morphmod.0 click on comment and copy it

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v203/MrInvisableman/Tut%20on%20Milkshape/Comment-none3.jpg

now click on comment in the first duplicate and paste it in

do the same with 01Morphmod.1

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v203/MrInvisableman/Tut%20on%20Milkshape/Comment-none2.jpg

click on "01Morphmod.0 one more time and copy the name then delete it

go to the first duplicate and paste in 01Morphmod.0 click rename then move it up untill it is right under State'

Do the same with 01Morphmod.1 and the second duplicate making sure it is
third on the list
now save the file out using Wes Howes Sims2 Unimesh Exporter

Now go to Foodservepancakes and click on the "Filename and copy it

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v203/MrInvisableman/Tut%20on%20Milkshape/filename.jpg

Now import the file the same way you exported and click "Replace"

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v203/MrInvisableman/Tut%20on%20Milkshape/Replace.jpg

now paste the filename back in and click Fix TGI Commit and Save as whatever you want to call your file.

Here is your newly completed Stack of Pancakes all standing up.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v203/MrInvisableman/Tut%20on%20Milkshape/StackoPancakes.jpg

This is the basics for keeping the animations working on a food file
most packages have more than one file with animations*

Some have 2 some have 3 and i would believe i have seen one with 4 animation files.

Usualy they are in the food cook and food serve files, just look at the "Model Tab" in SimPe to see which ones animate.

So far what i have figured out on my own is that each full mesh you make in milkshape you have to duplicate it and reduce/scale it in size but cannot change the poly count, it has to be the same poly as the full piece or it will have an error that the face count has a mismatch.

So the half piece has to retain the poly count the whole piece has and the none piece is just scaled down so it looks like it is sliced up

You will have to be carefull how many polys you use :(

the three mesh's you see below are the exact same mesh just one has some hidden and the little red dot is just scaled down to well a dot

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v203/MrInvisableman/Tut%20on%20Milkshape/CowHead.jpg

if i missed anything please feel free to add it in your post

Good Luck

A Big thank you to Wes, H for his understanding of The Sims2 and creating the Unimesh Importer/Exporter Plugins, The makers of Milkshape, Quaxi for the Miracle of SimPe, Delphy for creating such a fantastic site on which to share our Knowledge! last but not least all those who can share and trade the understandings of the game to all.

Thank you :)

By the way if you want to find me and my foods you can do so here

http://www.sims2workshop.com/forums/index.php

Try my Ice Cream Cones out they are tasty :D

pacotacoplayer
17th Aug 2006, 3:58 PM
is there any other program on earth other then Milkshape I can use and is FREE?

fireflies
17th Aug 2006, 7:36 PM
Pacotacoplayer, i am sure there are but i do not know if any of the free ones can use the Unimesh plugin?

If you read the chat in this part of the forum you may find some information about what you might be able to use?

http://www.modthesims2.com/showthread.php?t=122399

pacotacoplayer
18th Aug 2006, 10:24 PM
okay i have milkshape. one question - how do you texture the 2nd morph? like the inside of the cake

fireflies
18th Aug 2006, 11:10 PM
The second morph will still rely on the same texture the first one uses
it is only a clone of the first mesh so it is basicly working from the same txtr

pacotacoplayer
18th Aug 2006, 11:34 PM
oh....duh....thanks tons fireflies! SO basiclly what i do in short is:
1. Create 3 GMDC In Wings 3D (my perfered meshing program) 1 for each morph
2. I import the GMDC i extracted in milkshape and the Mesh and just rename each morph to match the ones of the original; I delete the GMDC and extract the mesh and new GMDC
3. Import into SIMPE, give it the copy and paste file name trick, commit, FIX ITY (something like that) thats it?

fireflies
19th Aug 2006, 3:47 AM
Basicly yes, ... do not forget to replace the comments back in as well.

pacotacoplayer
19th Aug 2006, 4:34 AM
Oh my god, fireflies! I just cloned the Lobster Thermidor and made a cylinder (just a test food to see if my food morphing worked) I followed everything I read very quickly from this tutorial (most important parts) and it worked! My sim ate the cylinder for a while :P and then half of it went away, and then after a few more munches it was gone!! THANKYOU SO MUCH! you are my hero...

oh sorry, one more question. I noticed that exnem's muffins had a different texture from the inside then the outside. On the outside it was a muffin texture and on the in it was a bread one. YOu said that it pulls the same animation for all of them; then how did exnem do that?

CynicalChick
21st Aug 2006, 2:55 AM
Just a friendly reminder.. this is a tutorial, not a debate. Let's keep comments and questions related to the topic.

Ebbe
1st Sep 2006, 1:19 AM
Ok, question. Now let's assume that I am not just changing around a Maxis mesh. What if I wanted to clone the Salmon per say and add in my own meshes to make Trout.

1.)Do I still do the object workshop, extract the gmdc to make a UV map and stuff, and then do this morph thing as well?
2.)And if I replace the foodsalmon_cook for one gmdc, do i change it for all of them?(i.efoodeatsalmon_cooked) which appears twice. Even though one doesn't have morphs?

fireflies
3rd Sep 2006, 12:58 PM
The Cook, Serve and Food Plate files will be the ones that have the Morphing Files in them for the foods,
1. Yes you will need to Extract the file and make a Uv Map
2. No you only need to add Morphs to your Trout from the salmon that has morphs originaly, the second one does not need morphs but will need to have its mesh replaced so it does not show in the game as Salmon while going into the oven or coming out?

AbstractSIMmer187
9th Dec 2006, 9:44 PM
I followed this tut 100% correct but when it comes to the time to export the file out SimPE it says, face count mismatch, maybe i done something wrong, what cause it to say that, i can't carry on from here.

xrax
10th Dec 2006, 11:44 PM
Awesome tutorial...did it first time with perfect results! :)

Abstractsimmer,

You need to keep the original poly count exactly the same as that of the cloned mesh. This is explained near the end of the tutorial. :)

AbstractSIMmer187
12th Dec 2006, 8:19 PM
Okay so i made burritos now how would i make a animation morph for that?

okay wait is this how you do it.

okay i'm making burritos right and i am using wings so i:

1) make 3 differnt morphs for the food e.g. Burrito full, Burrito Half eaten then Burrito nothing.

But then from here what do i do sorry i'm just very lost.

xrax
15th Dec 2006, 4:23 AM
Eeeeek...I don't think you can use Wings to make foods...you'll need Milkshape, I believe. However, I may be wrong.

Now in response to your question: I haven't got a clue. The best thing to do would be to try your method out as I'm still at the experimental stage, myself. :)

MissSimGameFan
1st Jan 2007, 12:00 AM
Erm, how do I open the mesh in Wings3D?

IgnorantBliss
1st Jan 2007, 8:29 AM
Someone correct me if I'm wrong, but I don't think you can use Wings 3D for this purpose.

MissSimGameFan
1st Jan 2007, 7:22 PM
Aww, darn. :(

Lady DarkFire
8th Jan 2007, 4:08 AM
Thank you Fireflies for this insightful tutorial. At first I had a hard time understanding the process but I later took the time to read and then re-read everything. Without your help custom foods would not be possible. Thank you! ^_^

fireflies
10th Jan 2007, 3:14 AM
Thank you Fireflies for this insightful tutorial. At first I had a hard time understanding the process but I later took the time to read and then re-read everything. Without your help custom foods would not be possible. Thank you! ^_^

You are most welcome, if you ever have questions? feel free to pm.