PDA

View Full Version : Caw Object Image Recolors Share Thread......Post Yours Here


auntielynds
2nd Jan 2011, 9:51 PM
Here is a brief explanation on how to use these files.

You will need S3pe which is a free download, to add these files to your world. Get it here;
Simlogical and the Dead End Nights (http://dino.drealm.info/den/denforum/index.php?PHPSESSID=kr0gei8p79ro62bdspgopq0e11&topic=189.0)


Open up S3pe, click on "File" on the bar at the top, click on "Open", and find your .world file you wish to add these files to.

They should be in;
Documents,
Electronic Arts,
Sims 3 Create a World
UserToolData
Worlds

It should look like this, I'm opening up my WhovilleBeta;
Make sure you click the "All Files" option, or your .world file won't show up.
http://i63.servimg.com/u/f63/15/13/17/05/s3pe210.jpg (http://www.servimg.com/image_preview.php?i=192&u=15131705)

Once you open it up, this is what it will look like;

http://i63.servimg.com/u/f63/15/13/17/05/s3pe10.jpg (http://www.servimg.com/image_preview.php?i=193&u=15131705)

Now, just click on the "Resource" tab on the top bar, Click on "import", and "from file". Find your new recolors you just downloaded, and click on it;

http://i63.servimg.com/u/f63/15/13/17/05/s3pe310.jpg (http://www.servimg.com/image_preview.php?i=194&u=15131705)


Now just hit the Ctrl + A keys to select all of the files in the folder, and click "Open". This is what you'll get, check;
Replace Duplicates;
Compress;
Use Resource Name
Then click "import".

http://i63.servimg.com/u/f63/15/13/17/05/s3pe410.jpg (http://www.servimg.com/image_preview.php?i=195&u=15131705)


http://i63.servimg.com/u/f63/15/13/17/05/s3pe510.jpg (http://www.servimg.com/image_preview.php?i=196&u=15131705)

Click on "file" on the top bar again in S3PE, and "Save".

Now, go open up Caw, and your world, and check out your new stuff!

This actually changes the image for that object, so you won't be able to change them back without extracting the same files and doing this process.


Links to shared recolors around the community. If you know of anymore, please post and I'll pop them in here.

Stw402's Altered Images and ini files for Exotic World (http://builders.forumotion.net/t1231-exotic-world-version-2)
You need to download the Saved Game File in order to get the World builder files. About 3/4 of the way down his post.

auntielynds
2nd Jan 2011, 9:52 PM
Winter Trees and Shrubs


http://i63.servimg.com/u/f63/15/13/17/05/winter10.jpg (http://www.servimg.com/image_preview.php?i=190&u=15131705)

auntielynds
2nd Jan 2011, 10:13 PM
Pastel, and Snow roofs.


These are the altered image files for the base game roofs. Pastels, and white like snow, and a nice deep red, green, and blue, for those gingerbread houses. :D There's also a nice Canary Yellow I didn't get a pic of. The Dark green jade roof, and the dark blue Japanese tile roofs, I slightly lightened up.

If you just want the snow roof, find the 4 files named "Roof_ManorNeutral"

http://i63.servimg.com/u/f63/15/13/17/05/roofs_10.jpg (http://www.servimg.com/image_preview.php?i=224&u=15131705)

http://i63.servimg.com/u/f63/15/13/17/05/roofs_11.jpg (http://www.servimg.com/image_preview.php?i=225&u=15131705)

http://i63.servimg.com/u/f63/15/13/17/05/roofs_12.jpg (http://www.servimg.com/image_preview.php?i=226&u=15131705)

Moria
3rd Jan 2011, 4:26 AM
Hey Auntielynds.. I see you are doing your objects as a replacement of base objects. I have always been a bit nervous of doing that and used this framwork approach instead..

Sims3wiki caw framework (http://www.modthesims.info/wiki.php?title=Game_Help:CAW_Framework)

(Read the post VERY carefully, to many people have replaced the .cfg file, not appended to it) ;)

In fact, I copy all my custom content into the same framework for both the game and CAW so that anything added in the game shows up in CAW as well.

Did you go for the direct replacement for a reason?

I will upload some stuff to this thread tomorrow, but I am not sure that the replacement method would work, mine is all framework stuff and new object names.

Regards

Graham

auntielynds
3rd Jan 2011, 9:05 PM
I just sort of taught myself how to do this with the help of another tutorial. I have the framework already set up in Caw, but I have yet to teach myself how to convert stuff to a .package format to put them in like that. I'll find some tuts, there must be some here somewhere, and convert these.

This is what I love about the Sims. In the past year I've learned so much about fiddling with files, and new programs. Although, what is it they say, a little bit of knowledge........................... :lol: So, usually when I do something one way, it's because I have no idea there's another way, but that's the joy of the journey.

simsample
3rd Jan 2011, 10:56 PM
Did you go for the direct replacement for a reason?


The way Lynds has done it, with the textures being imported into the World file, has the advantage that if you share the world, users do not have to install the custom textures- they are loaded with the world file itself. It is very useful if you play several worlds, as you could have different overrides in different worlds, according to what you want it to look like. So your Winter world would have the snowy trees, and each town could have different posters on the theatre.

You only need to do these as default overrides if you wish to use in all worlds, or if you wish to share as a mod that others can install in their game.

Another good example of this is the moon texture- someone on MTS has done a default replacement that makes the moon look different in all worlds. But on the Sims3 exchange someone made a Moon base world, and they included a texture override in the world file to change the moon to the Planet Earth. You wouldn't want an Earthlike moon for all worlds, so this is a good use.

Moria
4th Jan 2011, 2:12 AM
ahhhh got it, thanks so much.. hmmmmmm may have to rethink a few things here :) However for brand new objects which do not replace, I guess the framework system is fine, and then when the world is packaged, or the object is finally completer, move the items into the main world file.

That way, quick changes to objects while testing can be made in the framework.

I think my brain is falling apart from learning so many new things this holiday.

Regards

Graham

Moria
5th Jan 2011, 1:52 AM
OK heres a few of mine as a starter. I will do the rabbitholes and buildings later when I am totally Happy.

Here you have :-

1) Red Crane
2) Blue Crane
3) First of my road sign set for a hospital
4) Billboard advertising 2 modern films with modern simlish.. Avatar and Tron evolution

These packages can go in normal game and in a CAW framework as defined here :-

Sims3Wiki CAW framework (http://www.modthesims.info/wiki.php?title=Game_Help:CAW_Framework)

USE this CAREFULLY.. this is not a replace but an append in the cfg.. you have been warned.

Piccies.. (of course)

http://i39.photobucket.com/albums/e169/Moria15/long%20meg/objects1.jpg

http://i39.photobucket.com/albums/e169/Moria15/long%20meg/objects2.jpg

Regards

Graham

welcome123
21st Aug 2011, 2:02 PM
is it possible to remove the recolours. I made al the three's in my whole world white and they have to be green

simsample
21st Aug 2011, 11:02 PM
welcome123, yes- just delete the files you imported from the world file. If you cannot remember what they are called, download them again and then search your world file in S3Pe for that instance.

welcome123
22nd Aug 2011, 7:25 AM
thank you very much! :D


uhm a little question, Where can I delete them? Thank you very much for your help :D

simsample
22nd Aug 2011, 7:41 PM
welcome123, you just open the world that you imported the files to in S3Pe, and then delete the resources you added.

If you are actually playing a game which is using a world with these resources included, then you will instead need to open up the world file from the InstalledWorlds folder in your game user files, and delete the resources from there. You'll need to delete your caches, too.

welcome123
23rd Aug 2011, 7:13 PM
I;m sorry but I still don't understand. Do I have to run the program S3PE ? I'm not very smart with computers :(

simsample
11th Sep 2011, 7:01 PM
Yes, open the world with S3Pe in just the same way as you did when you imported the resources. This time though, delete them instead. Then save.

sakasiru
16th Sep 2011, 9:12 PM
What will happen if I copy a lot with normal grass texture and trees into this winter world? Will it become white, too or will it look funny?

simsample
21st Sep 2011, 12:13 AM
sakasiru, this is not a world, it is a set of texture overrides and objects for use in Create-a-world.

The files that auntielynds has posted are recolours of trees and roofs, and Moria has posted some recoloured objects.

None of those will affect the terrain at all.

The trees and roofs are default overrides so if you import a lot into a world created with these, then that lot will also have the roof and tree recolours.

ashleymarie87
26th Oct 2011, 1:50 AM
i have a quick question .... I'd like to recolor all of the non-evergreen trees to make them colorful - like autumn in new england.
However, when i try to open fullbuild in s3pe, it takes literally FOUR hours to import, and my computer overheated like... 10 minutes before it was finished, so I didn't get to export the image files.

Is it supposed to take that long or am I doing something wrong?

simsample
26th Oct 2011, 10:01 PM
That's not normal, ashleymarie87- is your computer low powered? If you have Vista or Win 7 then try copying the fullbuild file to your desktop, as that way UAC will not interfere. Also tell your antivirus program not to scan the file as you open it, in case that's slowing things down. It only takes seconds to open fullbuild0 on my old computer, so I would think something is amiss.

(When you said 'import', you meant open, right?)

ashleymarie87
27th Oct 2011, 12:33 AM
Actually, I'm not sure I can OPEN it - I thought I had to import it?
Let me open S3PE and see if I can open the file rather than importing it.

ashleymarie87
27th Oct 2011, 12:43 AM
Okay - problem solved.
I needed to open rather than import. :\ I'm an idiot.
BUT, I can make pretty trees now!! :]

simsample
27th Oct 2011, 1:47 AM
Well done for figuring it out, ashleymarie87! You're not an idiot- everyone has to make mistakes, you should see the daft things I do sometimes! :lol:

Skittle
2nd Nov 2011, 11:42 AM
I really love these winter trees and roofs!

my question is... if i add these trees to my world does that mean that ALL trees will be this winter theme or can i have part of the world just green and higher up the mountains a winter theme?

simsample
2nd Nov 2011, 1:55 PM
ollieverm, these are overrides- meaning that they override the EA texture for those particular trees.

If you want to have the snowy version and the green version of a particular tree in the same world then you would need to clone the tree and use these textures to make a snowy version as a separate custom object. :)

MissSkitty
3rd Nov 2011, 4:41 AM
Sorry to bother you guys, but I was looking to make recolors of an object in CAW. I don't know the file name, only the name it shows under in CAW. "Rock Beach Arch". Is there a tutorial on how to find these files somewhere? Or maybe a basic idea how to go about it...I feel like it's something easy, I just can't figure it out :/

Edit: I figured out how to do the overrides, I just can't find that particular rock in s3pe. Does anyone happen to know the name of it?

Skittle
3rd Nov 2011, 9:20 AM
ollieverm, these are overrides- meaning that they override the EA texture for those particular trees.

If you want to have the snowy version and the green version of a particular tree in the same world then you would need to clone the tree and use these textures to make a snowy version as a separate custom object. :)

and how exactly does one do that?

simsample
3rd Nov 2011, 3:15 PM
ollieverm, you'd need to look in the Create section of the site for tutorials on cloning and recolouring objects. Click Create> Sims 3> Tutorials at the top of the page. :)

MissSkitty, that one may well be repositoried, meaning that several rocks use one texture. Try looking at some of the rock textures in Fullbuild0 and see if recolouring them will change the rock arch.

MissSkitty
3rd Nov 2011, 4:08 PM
I found it! It's nbhRockBeach in fullbuild2 (in case anyone else has trouble finding it)

simsample
3rd Nov 2011, 4:15 PM
Well done, your persistence paid off!

RADIANT
23rd May 2012, 10:47 AM
Sorry I have to ask, I tried your method Lynds but it didn't work :cry: I downloaded your snowy trees, but they came to my computer as a 7Z file and I can't open it in s3pe the way you did it (it's like a single file and it can't be opened) .__. and now I don't know what to do? How can I get them in my computer as an openable file and use it's contents in caw?

auntielynds
25th May 2012, 10:05 AM
Hello,
You just need to unzip the file, then all the files will be in a folder. Here's some info on file compression programs.

http://www.modthesims.info/wiki.php?title=Game_Help:Downloading_for_Fracking_Idiots_5 (Don't be offended, I was an idiot until I read this, now I must be a genius :lol: )

http://ts3cc.forumotion.ca/t288-file-compression-tools

kiwi_tea
15th Sep 2012, 5:01 AM
I prefer a slightly more classic look. ;)

http://thumbs2.modthesims2.com/img/3/2/0/7/7/3/8/MTS_kiwi_tea-1323354-RedToadstoolTree.jpg

simsample
20th Sep 2012, 12:50 PM
Great idea, kiwi_tea! Will be good for supernatural worlds! Thanks!

Ketheira
23rd Sep 2012, 5:47 PM
I actually tried to upload these in the Downloads section of the MTS page. *Facepalm* That's what you get when you are too exited about sharing your own stuff. Now I hope I''ve got to the right place, cause I have a bunch of Rabbithole recolors for you!

So, ever needed a few snowy rabbitholes in your world? Well I made you some sliightly changed textures. Here, take 'em! ;D

These are recolors for the...
- Basegame police station
- Basegame diner
- Basegame hospital
- Basegame theater
- Late Night dimond studio
- Pets bistro (the 3 in 1 rabbithole)
- Pets bookstore/spa
- Pets criminal hideout
- Pets equestrian (works for both the pony- and horse rabbithole)
- Pets school/stadium

I hope you like my very first "upload"! :)
Varning: the files are quite big, so they might take a while to download. In the PM where I was directed to this thread I was suggested to compress the textures in a .package format, but when I did... they actually turned bigger in 2 out of the 3 times i tried. :blink: So, um, you better manage.

Installation:
These textures may be used in a specific custom made world in CAW, and should be installed through s3pe as stated in the beginning of this thread.

Credits:
Photoshop and s3pe was used for all the alterations.
hhh316 at DeviantArt (http://hhh316.deviantart.com/), for one or two of the great seamless textures!

auntielynds
24th Sep 2012, 6:17 AM
Wow!

Very Nice! Thank you for sharing. Makes me want to go skiing :up:

heaven
12th Jan 2013, 4:54 AM
Perhaps I missed a step or did something wrong so I figured I would post here and see. I've got a nice little reference picture I'm working from and really wanted some black bollard fencing. I went ahead and cloned (did not rename/renumber that way it should be default replacement as no resource names or numbers should be changed) of the CAW bollards metal. I exported the image files each to a dds file. I opened with Gimp, changed the color, saved as a new name (perhaps this is where I went wrong), and then imported as described in the original post. I saved and immediately exported my world to test in game. Unfortunately, they still show up as green.

I tried looking at some of the tutorials I've found on -how- to recolor but it appears that all the links go to deleted or removed threads.

armiel
12th Jan 2013, 11:10 AM
You need to keep the original name of the IMG file, otherwise it won't replace the original textures. :)

heaven
12th Jan 2013, 5:24 PM
Well, doesn't that make a ton of sense. :faceslap: Off to try it now.

That was definitely it. Makes so much sense in the light of morning, with a cup of coffee in hand. The "fruits" of my labor. The chain links are still there in the black, CAW just didn't like the angle and distance of my camera at that point. If anyone would like the files, they are attached. The files were just desaturated, no brightness or contrast adjustments have been made. Just use the import method in the original post.

Also, um, this may have created a monster. I can't look at a CAW object now without going "Hmmm, you would like so much better for my world like _____". Hence, my next change (which I am still working on) of the covered bridge that came with Supernatural. http://www.modyourpanties.com/hosting/42339_130112161625-CoveredBridge.jpg

simsample
15th Jan 2013, 2:35 PM
Great work, heaven- I hope we'll see a lot more of your recolours soon, then! ;)

Windprinzessin
26th Sep 2013, 8:00 AM
Hey guys! I've done a dark recolor of the french bridge coming with world adventures. I needed a dark, dark, dark bridge for one of my worlds and decided to
try this method out. I hope it's okay to attach the file right here? It's my very first upload.

Original
http://www.abload.de/img/brcke_origs2jw6.jpg

Recolor
http://www.abload.de/img/brcke_rec1_15vke8.jpg
http://www.abload.de/img/brcke_rec1_2a5kkk.jpg
http://www.abload.de/img/brcke_rec1_3bdjr1.jpg

Regards,
Windprinzessin

Lissten
9th Dec 2013, 4:34 PM
I did a recolor for some of the base game billboards, Champs les sim one replaces the car advertisement and Shang Simla replaces the musician.

Crowkeeper
1st Aug 2016, 9:28 PM
Hi:)
I would like to share some of my waterfall recolors + a set of trees and plants in blue/pink shades + set of rocks and crystals + a roof recolor that replaces the green scalloped one
The lava terrain paint in the second picture is by Nilxis

SimmyRN
2nd Aug 2016, 3:27 AM
Oh, how pretty! Thanks!

Crowkeeper
28th Aug 2016, 11:33 AM
More plant recolours:)
http://thumbs2.modthesims2.com/img/2/0/2/2/9/5/0/MTS_Crowkeeper-1641464-tumblr_ocm72izeF41useog9o2_r1_1280.jpg
http://thumbs2.modthesims2.com/img/2/0/2/2/9/5/0/MTS_Crowkeeper-1640865-efref.jpg

EDIT:
one more set of plant recolours:
http://thumbs2.modthesims2.com/img/2/0/2/2/9/5/0/MTS_Crowkeeper-1641462-tumblr_ocmdq93XCv1useog9o5_r1_1280.jpg
http://thumbs2.modthesims2.com/img/2/0/2/2/9/5/0/MTS_Crowkeeper-1640919-formts.jpg

EDIT2:
another set:
http://thumbs2.modthesims2.com/img/2/0/2/2/9/5/0/MTS_Crowkeeper-1641460-Screenshot-740.jpg
http://thumbs2.modthesims2.com/img/2/0/2/2/9/5/0/MTS_Crowkeeper-1641093-mts2.jpg

EDIT3:
another set:D
http://thumbs2.modthesims2.com/img/2/0/2/2/9/5/0/MTS_Crowkeeper-1641463-tumblr_ocrnwozhZ41useog9o2_1280.jpg
http://thumbs2.modthesims2.com/img/2/0/2/2/9/5/0/MTS_Crowkeeper-1641458-jhgvufh.jpg

EDIT4:
http://thumbs2.modthesims2.com/img/2/0/2/2/9/5/0/MTS_Crowkeeper-1642470-tumblr_ocxdf7T6IL1useog9o1_1280(1).jpg
http://thumbs2.modthesims2.com/img/2/0/2/2/9/5/0/MTS_Crowkeeper-1642469-forestformts.jpg