PDA

View Full Version : Tutorial, Rigging from scratch


BloomsBase
20th Sep 2012, 11:36 AM
This is a tutorial wich explains a easy way to (re)assigne the boneassignements on a sims 2 mesh.

Wat you need?
*Unimesh sims 2 plugin for Milkshape(http://www.modthesims.info/showthread.php?t=122399)
*TSRW for sims 3(http://www.thesimsresource.com/workshop)
After installing TSRW go to its installation directory and copy the 2 milkshape plugins located in the extra's folder(msTSRWorkshopExport.dll and msTSRWorkshopImport.dll)
Past these 2 in your Milkshape installation folder.(When done you can uninstall slim DX and TSRW if you like)
Note, you dont have to install TSRW if you either do not want to or just can't.
You also can:
Unpack the ZIP, then unpack the EXE.
Look for the 2 following files:
msTSRWorkshopImport.
msTSRWorkshopExport.
*Cmar's Toolkit for sims 3(http://www.modthesims.info/d/481950)

-After creating your new ''frenkensteined'' mesh go to the groupstab and rename the top, bottom or body to group_base
-Export the mesh as WSO file(export/TSRW Object)

Now go look for a existing mesh that has a similar shape to the mesh you created, the more closer that shape is the better the new assignements will be!
(Browse the outfits in bodyshop, clone one that comes closest, make a meshfile and extract its gmdc)

-Import that original mesh in Milkshape and click yes on the quistion''some skinweights do not total 100%, Do you want these corrected?''
-Rename the meshgroup to group_base
-Export the mesh as WSO file(name it referencemesh or something like that)


Open up Toolkit:
-Go to autotools for WSO tab
-in the auto assign bones tab you select your frenkensteined mesh in the
''WSO mesh to modify'' box
-load the reference mesh in the 2nd box
Leave the settings as they are(interpolation and replace all boneassignements ticked).

Save your file

-Start new in Milkshape and import the reference mesh with the unimesh importer
-Import the just saved file from Toolkit under import/TSRW Object.(do NOT import additional joints)
-Fix the meshgroupname(set it back to body, bottom or top)
-Fix the meshcomments
-Delete the reference mesh and export your new mesh with the Unimesh exporter.

NOTE,
After testing this a bit more we had a small bug wich assignes 90% of the mesh to the auskel joint,
Vertice with Auskel Assignements(1 to 4%) can cause deformations.
You can check this when hitting the anim button in Milkshape, alot of verts will drop a little.
To fix this you need to kill the auskel assignements:


-Import the mesh you just created.(as unimesh mesh)
-double click the auskel joint listed in the joint tab, then rename it(any name will do, i used 123456)
-You export as half life smd(reference and boneweights ticked)
-start new and import the reference mesh
-Import the smd file with skeleton and faces ticked(this can take a moment) under half life SMD import
-When hitting the anim button the vertice no longer drops(when done correct)
-Rename the meshgroup to body
-Fix the comments
-Delete the reference mesh
-Export as Unimesh

You can always have a look in Milkshape how the meshparts bend:
Enable ANIM(Window/Show keyframer)
Unhide skeleton from the joint tab
Hit ANIM, bottom right
select(tick joints in select options)
select a joint and choose rotate

Or load a animation file, here are a few:
http://www.insimenator.org/index.php/topic,74621.0.html
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Morphs:
You can use the same process to create the fat and pregnant morph, toolkit can copy morphs aswell.
Create a reference mesh and rename the normal mesh and morphs:
group_base
group_fat
group_special (wich is the pregnant morph)
Export as WSO

On your custom rename the normal mesh to
group_base
Export as WSO

Open up Toolkit and under ''auto tools for WSO''/''Auto create morphs'' you can import both files.
When done import the file as WSO in MS, fix the names and comments and export as unimesh.

sim2fanyea
20th Sep 2012, 1:32 PM
Okay, i tried following every step. But i've got a problem.
First, the reference mesh... must it be from The Sims 3 ? Or The Sims 2 ?
Then, must this reference mesh be already assigned ? (I mean like a base game model from sims 2 which has already everything assigned) ?
Because i tried importing a Female base game model (already assigned) in milkshape, exported it to WSO, but when i try to "autoassign" both mesh in Toolkit, i just get an error which tells me to close or to continue... If i continue, it won't.. continue xD
And if i do it with a reference mesh that has not any joints (for example, an .obj), Toolkit will just tell me the same...
Help ? :p

BloomsBase
20th Sep 2012, 1:33 PM
yes, you need a already boneassigned sims 2 mesh as reference mesh
Just took another unassigned mesh and it works like a charm, hopefully others will test this out to make sure.
Upload your mesh if you can not figure it out and ill have a go

sim2fanyea
20th Sep 2012, 1:44 PM
Okay i've got something now...
But now there's another error message haha !
http://i428.photobucket.com/albums/qq2/sim2fan/Sanstitre2_zps82d994c0.jpg

Edit² : Oh, i tried using another reference mesh directly extracted from game and it worked. Thanks a lot !! =)

BloomsBase
20th Sep 2012, 2:10 PM
i have no problems with your mesh, did you name it to group_base?
I did notice that after reassigning the whole mesh was assigned to 1% auskel wich shouldn't have happened(something that didn't happen on my testmesh)
Have a look at it ingame and see if that 1% messes things up(it did when using the ANIM button in Milkshape)
I did replace the underarm and hands to see if it makes a diffrence

sim2fanyea
20th Sep 2012, 2:36 PM
Thanks for trying, but it's okay it worked for me. I just had to fix some little parts that weren't well assigned (The pinky on both hands and the spines 0,1 and 2 ) and it moves good enough now ! Still not as perfect as base mesh haha but it's almost it !
As a reference mesh, i used the female burglar from the base game.
Thanks a lot for this tutorial, it's awesome ! =)

BloomsBase
20th Sep 2012, 3:09 PM
i managed to get rid of the auskel joint assignements, animates really nice.
Wanted to upload a avi but its 267mb....lol
if you want the meshfile let me know?

sim2fanyea
20th Sep 2012, 3:39 PM
Well, after thinking, i would love to have it, thank you a lot !

BloomsBase
20th Sep 2012, 4:21 PM
Let me know if you have it so i can remove link

fanseelamb
20th Sep 2012, 8:06 PM
I just tried this on a teddy bear mesh and it worked wonderfully. So quick and easy! Have no idea how I would've converted this bear without your tutorial, so thanks a zillion! Gonna move this over to the tutorials area for you.

Just one question. Now that the Milkshape plugins are copied over, can I uninstall TSRW? I don't have Sims 3 so would rather uninstall that if it's not needed. And what about the SlimDX Runtime.NET that TSRW installed? Do I need to keep that or can it be uninstalled too (assuming TSRW can be uninstalled)?

BloomsBase
20th Sep 2012, 8:37 PM
yes, you can uninstall it.
First i thought uploading the plugins but i better not do that :)

Bear?, i did something like that for kids once as outfit.
http://www.insimenator.org/index.php/topic,91404.0.html

fanseelamb
20th Sep 2012, 8:48 PM
Yeah uploading the plugins here would be easier for folks, but I supposed it would also be stealing. Darnit. :)

Oh my gosh that bear is SO CUTE! LOL! But I actually made a teddybear object. As you know, the teddybear has bone assignments similar to clothing, so I used this method to turn an .obj mesh (which a friend had exported from Sims 3) into a working Sims 2 teddy bear that animates when played with. So this method works even for objects, not just bodyshop content. :)

BloomsBase
20th Sep 2012, 8:49 PM
Sweet!
And thank you for moving the thread.

Cynnix
24th Sep 2012, 12:45 AM
I found this tutorial when I was downloading Fanseelamb's bear :) I'm so happy you've made the process easier. It took me ages to get the bones assigned on my TSM to TS2 town crier mesh. The next one I convert I'll use this,Thanks BloomsBase!

ETA...and done! Thanks so much!!!

http://i43.photobucket.com/albums/e354/Cynnix/CynnixTSMPNSwanGown.jpg

BloomsBase
25th Sep 2012, 11:44 AM
C00l :)

Cynnix
25th Sep 2012, 5:09 PM
I'm having a problem with a mesh I converted this morning, it had the auskel joint listed. I tried to follow your instructions to fix it but the fixed files crashed the game. I tried importing a previous version of the gmdc into the mesh and that crashed the game too. I rebuilt the mesh packages and used the previous version and the game doesn't crash, but the auskel joint is assigned.

BloomsBase
25th Sep 2012, 7:07 PM
make sure you start off with a unedited basegame gmdc in Milkshape before reimporting the smd file back.
other then that i wouldn't know.
I fixed 2 high polygon meshes from sims2fanyea and they worked ok(well, i didn't hear her after :D )

Also make sure not to forget the comments after the smd import.

I no longer have sims 2 installed so i cant be much of a help there.....

Wildchild453
25th Sep 2012, 9:05 PM
Hey Bloom, I tried out the tutorial (thank you so much for it) and for the most part things are lined up except for the arms.

Here's a photo:

http://imageshack.us/a/img856/2413/rainbowmesh.png

The bone assignments on for the TS3 (to TS2) mesh for arms are all screwy. Do I have to manually go in and adjust some of the arm joints, at least until the end of the sleeve where I can attach the TS2 body parts? I also assume I'm suppose to move the arms of the mesh so that they are T shaped.

I hope I'm being clear.

Cynnix
25th Sep 2012, 10:50 PM
make sure you start off with a unedited basegame gmdc in Milkshape before reimporting the smd file back. other then that i wouldn't know. I fixed 2 high polygon meshes from sims2fanyea and they worked ok(well, i didn't hear her after ) Also make sure not to forget the comments after the smd import. I no longer have sims 2 installed so i cant be much of a help there.....

Thanks, I got it working in the game aagain, but I'm really having a hard time with this one. I have edited the bone assignments, opened the game and SimPe darn near forty times today :blink: I'm getting various versions of this

http://i43.photobucket.com/albums/e354/Cynnix/Cyn_mothattack.jpg

this is the best I was able to get it, but I just can't seem to fix it that one little jagged bit won't cooperate with me.

http://i43.photobucket.com/albums/e354/Cynnix/Cyn_boneassignmentissue.jpg

BloomsBase
25th Sep 2012, 11:18 PM
prolly is just one bone assignement, shouldn't be to hard to find?
If you cant figure it out mail it to me and ill check it out tomorrow


I haven't tested it yet but i think you better rename the auskel on the reference mesh.
Then import a basegamemesh in MS, then the one out of toolkit


Always make sure underweighted bones are fixed aswell on the reference mesh before loading it in Toolkit
Those are causing the error(Toolkit assignes them to the auskel and other random joints)

BloomsBase
25th Sep 2012, 11:21 PM
Hey Bloom, I tried out the tutorial (thank you so much for it) and for the most part things are lined up except for the arms.

Here's a photo:

http://imageshack.us/a/img856/2413/rainbowmesh.png

The bone assignments on for the TS3 (to TS2) mesh for arms are all screwy. Do I have to manually go in and adjust some of the arm joints, at least until the end of the sleeve where I can attach the TS2 body parts? I also assume I'm suppose to move the arms of the mesh so that they are T shaped.

I hope I'm being clear.

I am not sure wat you are trying to do?
This is a sims 2 tutorial and hasn't anything to do with sims 3 meshes.
Only sims 3 tools are used not meshes.

edit,
oh, your converting sims 3 to sims 2?
The arms you can fix by reading this tutorial: http://www.modthesims.info/showthread.php?t=407561
It is something you do while it still is a GEOM file.(TSRW files wont work, they dont have a proper rig)
The tut is a conversion from sims 2 to sims 3 so the rotation on the arm joints is the opposite then wat is written in the tutorial.

Wildchild453
26th Sep 2012, 4:53 PM
Thanks Bloom. I have another question. Do you know why MeshTool would throw this error?

http://i428.photobucket.com/albums/qq2/sim2fan/Sanstitre2_zps82d994c0.jpg

I'm following the same process I did before but when I try to use a new reference mesh that's what I keep getting every time I try to make it start. I extracted a new TS3 .wso and I changed the group name and exported my reference mesh to a .wso but that keeps happening. Any help would be appreciated because it's not making any sense to me.

BloomsBase
26th Sep 2012, 8:05 PM
can you upload the files?

Wildchild453
26th Sep 2012, 11:23 PM
Here's a link Bloom: http://www.mediafire.com/?5db1sn8jlka4rmb

I can get it to work if I uncheck interpolation

BloomsBase
27th Sep 2012, 12:33 AM
lol, thats not going to work.....
how can toolkit copy the assignements if meshes are that diffrent

Wildchild453
27th Sep 2012, 12:45 AM
I'm confused. How are the meshes so different from one another? They are both shirts overlaying a body with scrunched sleeves. I managed to get it to work with two meshes that had vastly different shapes. I also tried to do it with two plain t shirts and got the same error.

BloomsBase
27th Sep 2012, 8:31 AM
you have to position the arms so that both the vertice from the reference and your mesh lay close together so that toolkit can transition(?) the assignements.
This means you need to rotate the upper and underarm backwards so that both are on the same spot as the referencemesh
Wat toolkit does is taking the boneassignement from the vertex that lays closest and copies it over.
If you take the thumb on your mesh for example, wat would be the closest joint near it(on the reference mesh)
It would be the thumb from the reference mesh, so far so good.
But if you look at the other fingers, they also have the thumb joint as closest match.
If toolkit would not give you a error the whole hand would be assigned to the thumb joint.
You have to be more accurate in positioning the mesh
This is easily done with the link i gave you earlier


edit,
Wat is this files name? its a EP top?
I can walk you throug if you like(from scratch)
Just keep in mind this is a huge ammount of work as you have to delete all the skinparts anyway on your mesh(ts2 skins wont fit ts3 meshes)
Or reUV map the arms and such(but that is even more work)

Wildchild453
27th Sep 2012, 6:40 PM
I fixed the TS3 mesh arms, which didn't really matter because I deleted the skin parts and subbed in TS2 nudebody-mesh where it was needed but now I have a better understanding of what you meant. I went back and grabbed the GEOM, fixed the arm position and worked from there however that still didn't stop the error from popping up. So I compensated by doing what I mentioned before: unchecking interpolation and that seemed to work

It's a top from the store (August Mission Shirt) and I'm doing it against a custom TS2 mesh by BunheadB. I can send you the files because I think I would be grateful for a walk through. I'm aware that's it's a lot of work and in a weird I'm in both enjoying and hating the process so there is that. Right now I'm a bit stuck because where my TS2 arms attach to the TS3 mesh, there is a mismatch in number of vertices so I'm working out how to fix and/or get around that.

BloomsBase
28th Sep 2012, 8:38 AM
it is indeed alot of work...
Yes, arms, waist, ankle and neck have a mismatch of faces.
If you want things perfect you delete one or 2 faces and connect the open triangles again.
You also can keep the arm a little bit longer so the sleeve kinda floats arround the arm, like a alpha layer.

You can sent me the file, its not that much(for me that is....)

Biggest prblem is often the uvmap but i think that if you use a 2 file setup(like a alpha layer) you can keep skin and clothingparts both on a seperate texture (even if they overlap eachother)

Wildchild453
29th Sep 2012, 9:56 PM
Thanks Bloom. I sent you a message with the project link. I hope a Milkshape file is ok.

BloomsBase
29th Sep 2012, 11:48 PM
This is a male shirt right?

Wildchild453
30th Sep 2012, 1:35 AM
Yup, it is.

BloomsBase
30th Sep 2012, 10:59 AM
sent you the file yesterday, didn't hear anything yet so i suppose it works.
You do need to reassigne the bones one the mesh, had to add some stuff to the shirt that you deleted.
I didn't give those new verts and faces any boneweights so you need to fix that.

You also need to update the uvmap, move arround some coordinates of the males chest so the skin fits again.
I snapped some chest verts to the shirt.

The bottom seam you might be able to do yourself :)

Wildchild453
30th Sep 2012, 6:32 PM
I just noticed the message. I'm looking at the file now and I'm going to pm you a few questions to not clutter up the thread about a project others can't really see.

Gwenke33
1st Nov 2012, 3:24 AM
Bloom, I cannot begin to tell you how grateful I am for this tutorial. As I don't play TS3 I never would have known about the Meshkit, and it will be immensely helpful for conversions, morph-making and bodyshapes for TS2.
Thank you so much!

Midare
17th Nov 2012, 3:46 AM
I have a question - I tried to use this method to transfer assignments from a TS2 mesh to an unassigned .obj one (which I exported through as a TSRW object, of course). But every time I run the auto-assign bones tool, I immediately get a Microsoft Net Error - index out of range exception. The loading bar in the Toolkit's window stops and doesn't budge. Any possible solutions for the problem exceed my skills, I'm no programmer. Is that a common error, or is it rather something about my system? i'd be very grateful for your answer!
If it's important, I use Windows Vista with Service Pack 2.

BloomsBase
17th Nov 2012, 11:46 AM
I had this error also but only if meshes were to diffrent from eachother.
You have to fix the arms before you can use the tool, i assume you did that?

Cmar did update the tool, you have the latest version?: http://www.modthesims.info/d/481950

Midare
17th Nov 2012, 12:03 PM
I had this error also but only if meshes were to diffrent from eachother.
You have to fix the arms before you can use the tool, i assume you did that?

Cmar did update the tool, you have the latest version?: http://www.modthesims.info/d/481950

I didn't use full meshes - I cut out the skirts, since that was the part I modified. The one on the right is the new mesh, the one on the left - the reference mesh (http://i1069.photobucket.com/albums/u473/krolowafrancji/Screenshot-2012-11-17_125917.png) (and yeah, they were both exported separately, both centered, and so on). And I do use the newest version of the tool, I only downloaded it yesterday. Does this method only work on full-body meshes? Because I could try frankensteining a similiar shape from existing meshes and use that as reference? I'll go try that right away!

BloomsBase
17th Nov 2012, 12:07 PM
Make sure the OBJ is exported with a skeleton attached.
and no, it works on every shape. :)

jlmonty16
10th Dec 2012, 1:15 AM
Out of curiosity, would you know a better way to fix the arms in a TS3 to TS2 conversion? I've read and re-read your other tutorial on fixing the arms for TS3 and have even tried to reverse it, to no avail. I can get the 3t2 mesh inside bodyshop, but the arms tend to be rather elongated and the hands/fingers may be oddly bent. I've tried using the conversions tutorial with the bonefix and simply trying to align the shoulders of the TS3 mesh with the TS2 one.

Thank you!

BloomsBase
12th Dec 2012, 6:26 PM
You need to open the file from the 2nd post, not the bonefix file to fix the arms.
As described you will run into some issues with the fingers as sims 3 hands are diffrent jointed(they have original one joint/bend more.)

jlmonty16
10th Feb 2013, 10:29 PM
Thank you Bloom! I will look at the files from the other post (excluding the bonefix) to see if I can work out something.

Jawusa
21st Aug 2014, 9:04 PM
Open up Toolkit:
-Go to autotools for WSO tab
-in the auto assign bones tab you select your frenkensteined mesh in the
''WSO mesh to modify'' box
-load the reference mesh in the 2nd box
Leave the settings as they are(interpolation and replace all boneassignements ticked).

Save your file

-Start new in Milkshape and import the reference mesh with the unimesh importer
-Import the just saved file from Toolkit under import/TSRW Object.(do NOT import additional joints)
-Fix the meshgroupname(set it back to body, bottom or top)
-Fix the meshcomments
-Delete the reference mesh and export your new mesh with the Unimesh exporter.


Hi, I did it as you said but I'm not getting a option (import additional joints --yes or no)
If I import my generated .wso file to my reference mesh it just imports the mesh but it doesn't ask me for additional joints.

Did I something wrong?

EDIT: I'm creating a pregnant morph if you might ask.