PDA

View Full Version : [v1.0.0.0] DeeDawg's Improved Edit In CAS


DeeDawg
7th Jan 2015, 8:55 PM
Description
This mod provide you with the ability to edit existing Sims in CAS. Yes, such already exists, but this is intended to be an improvement. It will fix bugs that haunt the other mods, even though it's not the authors, behind the other mods, fault. It's bugs that exist, because TSM wasn't designed to support editing existing Sims with CAS in full mode in the first place, so we have to provide the game with the power to do so successfully.

How does it work in-game?
The mod adds a new interaction to all Sims under the "DeeDawgMods" menu, called "Edit [first name] in CAS". If you use it on the active Hero, it'll use "yourself" instead of the first name.

Tunable settings
The mod supports tunable settings, and those can be found in the "DeeDawgMods.EditInCASSpace.TunableSettings" file within the mod package. Remember that TSM use the DTTB-format and not just plain XML. The settings are as follows:

kShowInteraction Default: true - whether or not the interaction should be shown
kPauseOnUse Default: true - whether or not the game should be paused before entering CAS


Current fixes
The following is a list of fixes that are currently implemented with this mod:

Persistent changes - certain changes, like changes to body shape, are now persistent and doesn't revert after a little while
Sim thumbnail - the thumbnail for the Sim you're editing is now showing up correctly


Bugs to be investigated
The following is a list of bugs to be investigated. They're not necessarily bugs that will/can be fixed, but they are considered and awaiting investigation:

Possible save conflict, if the mod is removed
Eye color is not persistent every time, possible link to the "blue eyes" bug


Special thanks

ChickieTeeta - helped testing the mod a while back, and convinced me to make a proper release of this mod for all to enjoy


Changelog

07/01-2015 => Initial release


If you discover any bugs while using this mod to edit existing Sims in CAS, please report it in this thread and I'll add it to the bug list for further investigation.
Enjoy! :)

Xeny
10th Jan 2015, 12:18 AM
MMMMM, persistent body changes.....this is what my monarch's children have been praying for! This Watcher will no longer be forced to murder the over chubby children when grown up. I have recently been testing the grown up children from their baby stages, only allowing the mother to feed the boys, and never allowing the mother to feed the girls, choosing this method so it will be easier to determine if the feeding at baby stage is in fact a catalyst to heavy set adulthood. So far it would seem so....however, it is not always the case (this from my experience in game play), sometimes it seems that although I prevented a baby from being fed (nursed) by a mother, still some children were made obese when aged to an adult. I must say though that in those times there could have been times when the mother fed a baby when I was otherwise occupied and did not know.
On a side note, I have seen some mothers not of a baby try and feed a baby. Example, which totally appalled me was in my kingdom I am playing now, my Peteran Priest's wife, tried to breast feed her grandchild and also the child of the king on two separate occasions. I was so upset by her actions I had my Priest Lagger Beer divorce her. She being one of the most well known female NPC's in the game. Marjory I think is her first name. She has the fool trait by default. She is sweet enough as a sim goes, but that behavior was outrageous to me. I tend to take out a lot of sims in my kingdoms, meaning to have them exit the world in the most painful ways, so she can consider herself lucky to be sure. She lives.
I hope I have all the exciting possibilities this mod can provide in my game, dear DeeDawg. Thanks a ton of sims for making it!

Xeny


PS... I feel I must add that the whole idea of sims getting fat or gaining weight is foreign to me although I have read of gamers of TSM mention this event, and having put them on diets. Shimrod also has a low fat diet mod for TSM. You see, no sim in my 4 years of playing TSMP&N has ever gained weight, nor have they lost weight, so I have thought that this must have been an issue before Pirates and Nobles was released, or some other update.
I recall that in one of the updates prior to Pirates and Nobles expansion pack, one of the flaws it was supposed to fix was "fat" children were not to be created anymore, however, like most of the fixes these updates claimed they would fix, it failed. The blue-eyed bug for example was also another fix one of the updates said it would fix, but here we are today experiencing both of these bugs anyway. I tend to wonder what benefit these particular updates had or have for our game? Perhaps an overwriting of a file that says the same thing....mmmm.

TTFN Toots! :D :king:

DeeDawg
10th Jan 2015, 7:33 AM
I think I'll have to clarify something. By the changes being persistent, I do just mean that your changes won't get reverted like 10 seconds after you exit CAS. It doesn't disable any progression in regards to weight gain or anything like that, so the Sims should still be able to gain weight as usual. I dunno if weight gain is functioning properly in this game, because I usually don't keep my Sims around long enough to find out. The pit beast gotta eat, y'know. So yeah, this will certainly give you an alternative to killing your obese offspring, although that would be my choice of action anytime. :)

Xeny
10th Jan 2015, 3:15 PM
I think I'll have to clarify something. By the changes being persistent, I do just mean that your changes won't get reverted like 10 seconds after you exit CAS. It doesn't disable any progression in regards to weight gain or anything like that, so the Sims should still be able to gain weight as usual. I dunno if weight gain is functioning properly in this game, because I usually don't keep my Sims around long enough to find out. The pit beast gotta eat, y'know. So yeah, this will certainly give you an alternative to killing your obese offspring, although that would be my choice of action anytime. :)

Clarification unnecessary. I understand what the mod does. As I had stated previously though concerning weight gain in-game and the lack of weight loss or weight gain occurring, I have no concern that any of the grown up children will put on weight, since I have never experienced this to happen in my game....EVER. I suppose because me sim babies are always exercising, training, beating up on the cowards and wimps etc. The concept that Griselda has to eat is true enough, but I cannot have a game sacrificing the sims I've grown to love to her, but also with the sentenced sims, the evil-doers, Griselda is no guarantee that the accused will pay for their crimes so to insure they do, and justice prevails. murder by, and execute by sword are the two most used options in the interactions menu, especially when only one sim at a time can be arrested by the Constable, and then when more than one needs a visit to the stocks or pit, I am appalled that sim 2 gets to walk out of the kingdom for home, and often will not return until 2 days have passed. By that time, this Watchers head is on other matters, and has forgotten the ills the accused committed exactly, or else am not prepared to view enacted justice, which like I said, Griselda cannot be relied upon to deliver! Often she has allowed the super guilty to skip out of justice, and what peeves me the most about it, is these ugly-hearted, cruel, and evil sims who escape get a Found Innocent buff that is long lasting and large in points. All Guilty of what is deemed a crime in my kingdoms, MUST PAY for their criminal actions!!!!

By the way, I have an aching for a different Constable. TZ Dynamics professions mod includes the Constables abilities that can be added to a sim, hero or npc if a Watcher chooses, and with my game configuration, I can also add Constable as a profession as well. I intend to test this in my game to see if multi-classing the Constable profession will work nicely in TSMP&N or if there might be issues attempting such. The default Constable is slow, misses his targets much too often, and rarely responds to any sim trying to either converse with him, medicate him, or sword fight with him. He ignores all interaction until he is returned to his shack, and a good amount of times does not come out again, and the few times he does, he is so slow, another event has taken place in which the first responder is now involved and cannot quit in order to fulfill his/her initial inquiry to the Constable. In other words, he sucks.

If any reader is interested, I'll report back my findings on a situation of having another Constable in-game when testing is complete.

TC DeeDawg, keep doing great things for TSMP&N Toots!

Xeny :king:

mirabellarose
15th Jan 2015, 10:22 AM
Thank you! Thank you, thank you, thank you! It's so nice to see that others want to improve this game as much as I do. The only problem I encountered with the other Edit in CAS mod (can't remember who made that mod), was that when I had to create a new hero. the game would hang in CAS. I would have to force the game to close, remove the Edit in CAS mod, make my hero, save, exit, then put the mod back in. It was kind of a pain.

DeeDawg
15th Jan 2015, 4:57 PM
You're welcome. I'm most certainly dedicated to develop stuff for TSM, but this is indeed a very fragile community, and eventually I will move on as well like we all will at some point. In regards to the issue you experienced with another mod, is indeed an actual risk with these mods. Much of the logic behind CAS is kept as a separate system, that we can interact and manipulate with, through the game's scripting engine. Without getting into code and programming concepts, the simplest way to explain it, would be that this logic system is in a static state. This means that whatever changes that these mods make, will also affect the main game as well. For that reason, it's not advisable to have multiple mods of this type installed at the same time. So if you've been using a mod that modified something it shouldn't, it's not a surprise that it broke the game.

You shouldn't experience this with my mod though, but please let me know if you find something else. :)

ShigemiNotoge
27th Jan 2015, 6:01 AM
I do just mean that your changes won't get reverted like 10 seconds after you exit CAS.

Praise the Watcher. *bows*

DeeDawg
28th Jan 2015, 8:00 AM
While I'm otherwise known as that, DeeDawg would do just fine. You're welcome! :)

heaven
30th Jan 2015, 1:09 AM
Unfortunately, eye color is not persisting in my save. I tried taking this out and replacing it with Treeaq's version (and cleared my caches) since eye color changes did persist with that one. Removing your mod though caused my save to no longer load. Put your mod back in and it loaded fine.

I tried editing the sim again and this time, the eye color persisted. Not sure what the issue was last time. :(

DeeDawg
30th Jan 2015, 5:08 AM
Thanks for your feedback. It's interesting, although I don't see how a save would depend on this mod, I guess I'll have to see if I can reproduce it. I've added both to the list, and will get back to you when I get a chance to look into it. :)

LisaNomiLu
31st Jan 2015, 6:27 PM
Thank you very much! I have just started playing the game.. Can't figure out why your mod don't show up in game. I created folders according to the tutorial (http://modthesims.info/t/438344) except the d3dx9_31.dll part... Is that tutorial possibly outdated?

DeeDawg
31st Jan 2015, 10:50 PM
As this is a scripting mod, you will need to follow that guide to its full extent. That includes the "d3dx9_31.dll part". :)

MikaelMP
10th Jul 2015, 6:59 AM
Hi DeeDawg, the only problem I've had from this mod is that the eye color always becomes dark blue no matter what, and I can't change the eye color even after exiting CAS and going back to CAS again.

pixsay
10th Jul 2015, 3:12 PM
That's a bug with the game, not with this mod.

DeeDawg
12th Jul 2015, 12:04 AM
While it may be a bug with the game, so is pretty much everything else really. TSM, like TS3, is a technical mess with inconsistent quality both in design but also implementation - most of it bad. So thanks for the report, MikaelMP, I'll add it to the list and then let's see if we can do something about it. I must admit though, that I haven't worked on this project since I released it back in January, but I should get around to it eventually. :)

MikaelMP
13th Jul 2015, 7:22 AM
While it may be a bug with the game, so is pretty much everything else really. TSM, like TS3, is a technical mess with inconsistent quality both in design but also implementation - most of it bad. So thanks for the report, MikaelMP, I'll add it to the list and then let's see if we can do something about it. I must admit though, that I haven't worked on this project since I released it back in January, but I should get around to it eventually. :)

Thanks DeeDawg, I'm just grateful that someone is still modding Sims Medieval these days XD

Pokesimaniac
29th May 2016, 2:12 PM
Okay, er, I hate to be a bother and I feel bad posting on an old thread, but whenever I use ANY Edit in CAS mod for this game, it works well for a few Sim minutes, but then the Sim I used it on loses its relationship window with the Sim I'm playing as both in the upper-left corner of the screen when trying to talk to them and in the relationship panel itself. My main goal in downloading this is to edit the NPCs of, say, the castle and the attendants at the churches and all that, give them a more cohesive heritage and add traits that I see fitting for them to give them personality, instead of just random weirdos that skulk around my castle that my monarch is supposedly good chums with.

I've tried three different Edit in CAS mods now: yours, Treeag's, and one that was a part of a debugging mod. I've modded my Sims games for years and I used to mod Medieval, but not as heavily as the other Sims titles, plus I've made a couple light mods for the other Sims games, but I'm fairly new to Medieval and I'm... soooo confused! I have it set up, but I have no idea if this is fixable on my own, so here I am reviving a 10 month old thread, which I do apologise for!

To be more specific, I think it might be the changing of the Sim's traits that makes it wonky, but I'm not sure. The Sim's face and body all stick (thank the Watcher/you, DeeDawg!), and the relationship panel shows how they now look, but when I hover over them to view their traits, see the relationship with my Sim, view their partner status, religion, etc., it doesn't pop up. Even worse, when I initiate conversation with them, on the upper-left corner, no LTR box pops up, which means with each social beyond the first I add, it drops out of the queue and usually the NPC then starts using a different social. So there's no real conversation string, if that makes any sense? I don't know. So I can't learn their traits and I'm not certain I could even build a romantic relationship with them at all, if I ever wanted to for some highly-unlikely reason, as I'm disdainful of NPCs in general, especially those with the Unkempt trait, blech.

I was of course testing the mod on a new kingdom and save file, and I edited the royal adviser twice and the Tredonian prince once, and I was satisfied with how they physically came out, but then... yikes, I can't do a thing with them. I saved the game, since I have nothing to lose on it, and reloaded a few times. Testing the other Edit in CAS mods to find that it's the same problem (so, basically, I'm here begging for guidance on something possibly unrelated, my apologies!), and I do think it might be editing the traits that really puts the nail in the coffin. Perhaps I should edit a Sim without editing their traits and finish typing this... Ah, okay, I tested it, and it's the trait-changing that seems to be my downfall!

So–and I really do feel bad for prolonging this, but–does anyone know how to permanently edit an NPC Sim's traits, beyond their fatal flaw, which I can access through the debugging mod? Because the Edit in CAS mod works great, as I've now seen. Thank you, DeeDawg! I've never posted much on forums, so I don't really know what I'm doing, I hope I'm not breaking rules or bothering anyone too much!

DeeDawg
2nd Jun 2016, 4:08 PM
Don't be afraid to post, it's great that you're reaching out. And considering that this is a thread for a download, there's really no such thing as reviving it, so no worries.

Using the currently available Edit in CAS mods, including mine, is risky as The Sims Medieval is not quite as forgiving as The Sims 3 when it comes to editing existing sims. In order to get around this, alot of the CAS-system will have to be rewritten which is a huge task. But for now, the best way not to run into problems is to use the mod to only edit things that you otherwise wouldn't be able to edit. So in your case, I wouldn't advise you to use it for editing traits. What you can do instead is to enable cheats, and then shift-click the particular sim, and you'll have an option to change their traits.

Pokesimaniac
3rd Jun 2016, 11:10 AM
Hey, thank you so much for the response!

That suggestion's great, but I luckily found that I can edit the traits using your CAS mod, and basically everything else, as long as I use a debugging mod and change the Sim's religion of all things to whatever they were before, which sets everything straight. Odd how that worked, but I'd read someone suggesting someone did that on one of the guards they edited before, who was no longer performing their guard duties, so I thought I'd try it since I had nothing to lose. It was exactly the trick needed! So, in my experience now, you can add traits using CAS mods, but right after you should change the religion back to what it was (or change their faith, if you so wish, I doubt that would cause an issue if your Peteran Sim now became too beautiful in their own eyes to NOT convert to Jacoban). I tested it a little and it doesn't really matter if you do that before you initiate conversation with them or after. And it seems more like the Ask About Religion interaction was what would cause the disappearance of the LTR box, which I hadn't noticed. I usually ask that pretty quickly with new Sims, since I like filling up that Sim's known traits and details early on in the relationship. I just hadn't noticed the connection until after I debugged the religion. I guess editing them in CAS makes their religion change or reset or something that I don't know the technical name for, which was my problem.

So, cheers, that works! I actually didn't think to see if it WAS the traits after all, like I first thought, or simply my kingdom's general spirituality failure, meaning even if I didn't edit the traits, I'd still have to debug the religion quickly and painlessly.

Basically, I'm new and kind of clueless, so thanks for your patience and response! I love your mod. My Scottish kingdom of Calhoun is so much happier with its new, specific, in-theme townies who don't have certain traits that make me want to send them to the pit upon discovery. (I hope my words made sense, what I described, but I really don't know too much about the technical side of this game.)

DeeDawg
4th Jun 2016, 1:16 AM
I don't blame you for that. Even from my point of view, or rather a programmers point of view, it's not always easy to understand what's going on.

It's true though, that the issue you experienced is related to the particular Sim's religion. The problem is that the religion is not something your able to define for your Sim through CAS. This is something that's set by the game afterwards. So when you bring an existing Sim into CAS and save your changes, the Sim is now exported from CAS without a religion set. This causes problems when the games assumes that it's set for every Sim. But that's actually only true when you edit certain things about the Sim in CAS.

This is a result of very bad software design by EAxis.

mellodey
30th Jul 2016, 2:21 PM
all mods to edit them full in cast, does not work anymore. I think that they are broken. :'(

Rappeldrache
9th Jan 2017, 11:41 PM
Hi,

I really love this mods and it works fine, BUT: I can't chance clothes with it. :( Everything else seam to work fine. :bunny:

I change the clothes in CAS but in the game it does not excapt the chances. :( I could use (of course) the cloth-chance possibilities with a chest, BUT: If I chance the clothes with a chest (normal way) than I can't see the locked clothes. I can see the locked clothes ONLY if I use the CAS editor and this one don't excapt the clothes chances.
Example: I chance the hair AND the clothes with the CAS Mod (both together) and than in the game the hair is chanced but NOT the clothes.

Does anyone have a idea what I could do? I would be happy to see the locked items with the normal CAS. So I would chance a Sim two times, thats ok for me.
(I have other mods like Grim's Core)

THANKS! :lovestruc


EDIT: I have ALL clothes (also the profession clothes), I just have to put this cheat in: Disableclothingfilter [true/false] .... than I can choose every look from the normal chest. And: I have to start a new game :(

EDIT 2: Without the mods it seem to work, with mods it don't work. I just want to have ALL clothes (profession clothes, too), but ... puhh it's not easy somehow.


.

sushiii15
21st Jul 2017, 1:15 AM
Hii,
so it's my very first time playing The Sims Medieval game, and I'm trying to use this mod to edit one of my heroes, but I have no idea how to do it. So what I did was enable testingcheat by rewriting it in notepad to testingcheats=1. Then I downloaded the deedawg mod and placed it into my Mods/package folder and I did download a resource.cfg file and it's in my sims medieval folder. So when I go into the game, and shift + right-click I don't get any edit in cas button or deedawgs drop down menu. Also I did download d3dx9_31.dll and placed it in my game/bin folder. Any help would be appreciated! Thanks!

Eggyslav
22nd Jul 2017, 9:06 AM
@sushiii15: You don't have to press the shift when using this mod, just left click on sim you would like to edit, and there should be a new option, called Deedawg Mods, and inside of it there's Edit *sim's name* in CAS.

AquaticIce11
24th Jul 2017, 7:08 AM
Okay, so ik it's 2017 and this game isn't all that popular. But I'm just trying to download this mod and have it work. I have the two main files needed. I set up my mods folder property but I'm haveing trouble with the 'd3dx9_31' the game/bin file is non-existant, I don't know where to put it I've tried a few trial and errors but I just don't know where or what I need to do? Any help would be greatly appreciated. :help:

RoryAusten22
25th Jul 2017, 2:53 PM
In reply to AquaticIce: You should probably have posted this in tech help, rather than here, as you would have gotten help quicker. :)
How to set up The Sims Medieval for Mods
1) Enable "testingcheatsenabled" in C:\Program files\Electronic Arts\The Sims Medieval\GameData\Shared\NonPackaged\Ini
2) Right click "Commands" and click Properties. Tick off "Read only" if it isn't already and click accept.
3) Now go back to the list in Ini and right click on "Commands" , open it using NotePad and you'll see "testingcheatsenabled=0". Change "0" to "1" and save.

Open the sims medieval install folder which can be found here:
C:\Program Files\Electronic Arts\The Sims Medieval

If you see folders called 'Caches, Game, Game Data, Support and Thumbnails, you’re in the right place.

Put the 'Resource.cfg' file in here, at this level, so it’s sitting with these folders.

Make a new folder called Mods.

Make a new folder called Packages. Put the Packages folder inside of the Mods folder.

Open the Packages folder and put your package files for the mods you want to use in here. This is where you would also put Grim's Core, should you decide to use it.

This is what it should look like: C:\Program Files\Electronic Arts\The Sims Medieval\Mods\Packages

Now, go back out of the mods folder (you should be back in the folder that contains the Caches, Game, Game Data, Support and Thumbnails folders and your new resource.cfg)

Open the 'Game' folder

Open the 'Bin' folder

Put the 'd3dx9_31.dll', which you can get from here: http://www.modthesims.info/showthread.php?t=438344 , in the bin folder.

Here is what it should look like: C:\Program Files\Electronic Arts\The Sims Medieval\Game\Bin
You're all done.
Close the folders and run the game to check it all works. If it still doesn't work, please post pictures of your set up so we can look at it and see what's going on. Good luck.

BellaDovah
21st Mar 2020, 8:45 PM
I'm having an issue with both Teerag and Deedawg's version where if I edit an NPC, then ask about their religion, the relationship glitches. I can't see their traits in the relationship panel and I don't get the popup that shows how a conversation is going like 'x thinks x is being alluring' etc, and shortly after the game freezes or crashes.

gettp
28th Mar 2020, 12:46 PM
I'm having an issue with both Teerag and Deedawg's version where if I edit an NPC, then ask about their religion, the relationship glitches. I can't see their traits in the relationship panel and I don't get the popup that shows how a conversation is going like 'x thinks x is being alluring' etc, and shortly after the game freezes or crashes.

Both are way out of date and apparently no longer supported, abandonware. Both crash the game for me.

But the religion bug is not a problem with the mods, seems to be a game bug. It seems that editing an NPC in cas clears out the NPC's religion, which it should never be. This causes a game flaw when asking about their religion. Even using a priest/priestess to "convert" doesn't work, just causes the same crash. The only way to fix it is to kill the NPC (if you can keep it running long enough) or revert to an older save.

It's possible a mod could overcome the bug by setting the religion, but since the modding tools no longer exist and support is gone, we're basically F'd.

Edit:

I think I found a solution to the bug. Teerag and Deedawg's mods are still broken. But if you have Grim's mod, I think you can use that to fix the bug. Grim's will allow editing of the NPC sim. What you want to do is use Grim's mod to edit the sim (Sim/Edit in cas) then BEFORE you ask the sim about their religion, use Grim's mod to set the NPC's religion. "SAS Debug: Set Religion on Sim".

I tried that then asked about religion and the game didn't bug out for me. I want to run more tests but I think it works fine.