Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Quick Reply
Search this Thread
Test Subject
Original Poster
#1 Old 13th Dec 2022 at 10:40 PM

This user has the following games installed:

Sims 3, World Adventures, Ambitions, Late Night, Generations, Pets, Showtime, Supernatural, Seasons, University Life, Island Paradise, Into the Future
Default Cannot load or create new saves
I attached my system specs as a text file. Forgive me if that's not how this is supposed to be done, this is my first time posting here. I also have every expansion pack and stuff pack.

I was playing Sims 3 on Windows 11 and started encountering the infamous Save Error 16 when trying to save. I had a feeling this wasn't going to be fixed any time soon, so I decided to downgrade to Windows 10. Unfortunately the 10 day grace period had passed so I did a fresh installation. I'm not sure if that's relevant but I figured I'd include it just in case.

I brought up a save and started playing it. Things worked fine for a while, but soon I got error 16 again. I closed the game and deleted the .bad files, then loaded the game up again and went to resume my save file, but when I tried to load it it gave me this message: "A serious error has occurred while loading SaveGame.save. It is strongly recommended that you restart the application." Trying to start a new game got me the same message.

I've now uninstalled and reinstalled the game several times, and every time the same thing happens:

On the initial launch, everything works as it should. I can start a new game, I can save, everything's normal. If I try to load an old save at this point, however, after loading it gives me the "serious error" message.