Replies: 24517 (Who?), Viewed: 655694 times.
Page 981 of 981
Mad Poster
#24501 Old 4th Aug 2020 at 7:45 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Primavera
I thought so, no wonder I stopped putting in the water tower in my neighborhoods. I don't think cc water towers have that issue though.

You can tell by moving the water tower around before you place it. If the pig is attached, you can sometimes see it "orbiting" the top of the tower as you move the tower around.
Field Researcher
#24502 Old 4th Aug 2020 at 11:03 AM
When a house is infested with roaches, and you move the entire household out on the hood screen, do the roaches disappear from the lot, or do the next inhabitants have to deal with them too?
Theorist
DELETED POST
4th Aug 2020 at 3:49 PM
This message has been deleted by Sunrader. Reason: delete
Mad Poster
#24503 Old 4th Aug 2020 at 5:34 PM
Does anybody know why this is happening?
I've had something similar happen before - it was solved by removing the stage from the floor on the square below the counter
But, there is no stage here. And, it's only on the one side - that same counter will 'hook up' if the stove is on the other side:





Why?
Screenshots

Please ~ support my TS2 habit! Shop at my Etsy shops:
CatherinesJewelry ~ Artisan Jewelry
Catherine's MOUSE ~ Up/Recycled Jewelry
and Vintage Stuffeths
Top Secret Researcher
#24504 Old 4th Aug 2020 at 6:08 PM
Hmm, sugoisama, I don't know. My instinct is to say yes, they get deleted, because normally everything gets deleted on move out. So if the objects are still there, I'd say probably not. But if they got deleted, I'd say no. But test and see.

And CatherineTCJD, I noticed that, too! It's very annoying and I've no idea why it happens, but it always seems to be the same side that gets connected--the left one never goes.

"May the sunlight find you, thy days be long, thy winters kind, thy roots be strong." -Grand Oak Tree, DAO

XPTL Mod Archive | Change a Mod's Mesh into a CC Object | Increasing the Game Difficulty | Editing ACR 4 Your Age Mod
Bored? Read an unfinished legacy or sim story. | Kelyns on other forums
Mad Poster
#24505 Old 4th Aug 2020 at 9:13 PM
I hate that connecting crap when it happens. It's always one side is not going to fit, and you have to re-arrange the whole set to make it work. That's why I never make island counter tables...too darned confusing and complicated.

Receptacle Refugee & Resident Polar Bear
"Get out of my way, young'un, I'm a ninja!"
My downloads of various stuff: https://www.mediafire.com/#myfiles (including funerals!)
Top Secret Researcher
#24506 Old 4th Aug 2020 at 9:36 PM
Okay, so I'm trying to finalize my "realistic home elements" rules. I'm going to make it so that if the neighborhood has a winter season, then all houses/dwellings, etc. need a furnace (I'm torn between having this cost $3000 or Raynuss' original $4500) and also need a radiator in all main rooms ($200). But I wanted to give a discount for sims who use fireplaces. Idk if I should do a straight swap--either place a fireplace or furnace--with this I'm leaning towards no because not only would it not make sense to ever use a furnace, but also, how would other rooms get heated, without sticking fireplaces everywhere? My other idea was that if there's a fireplace, then the home could have a cheaper furnace or maybe a cheaper electrical panel? (All homes have to have an electrical panel, too, and since I have MustLuvCatz's single box versions of LivingDeadGirl's electrical cabinets, I'm making it so that different size lots need an appropriately sized electrical cabinets. The bigger the lot, the bigger and more expensive the electrical cabinet.)

Anyway, feedback/thoughts/suggestions are welcome. How would you handle the furnace vs fireplace issue?

"May the sunlight find you, thy days be long, thy winters kind, thy roots be strong." -Grand Oak Tree, DAO

XPTL Mod Archive | Change a Mod's Mesh into a CC Object | Increasing the Game Difficulty | Editing ACR 4 Your Age Mod
Bored? Read an unfinished legacy or sim story. | Kelyns on other forums
Mad Poster
#24507 Old 4th Aug 2020 at 9:40 PM
^ I usually try to put the stove and other appliances in places where the interlocking islands and counters don't make problems. Nowadays I tend to only make islands free-standing as a bar-like table, because they interfere too much with the rest of the kitchen (and sims don't seem to like using them anyway).
Needs Coffee
retired moderator
#24508 Old 4th Aug 2020 at 11:22 PM
I think Mootilda made a post about counters connecting or not connecting and how one side worked better than the other. It is definitely a thing. I can't remember if it was something to do with the direction of the sun like the driveway or something else.

"I dream of a better tomorrow, where chickens can cross the road and not be questioned about their motives." - Unknown
~Call me Jo~
Mad Poster
#24509 Old 4th Aug 2020 at 11:45 PM
Thanks Catherine, Zarathustra, Jo, Sunrader, I'm not quite ready to buy yet, I'm just getting more and more issues with this old Dell of mine. So I have planning time.

My comfort level personally is "Sure, I can put all the components in the box, and I can install Windows, and I can modify the registry if I have instructions, and if something goes wrong I can always start over", which is, I gather, a pretty high computer comfort level.

I also kill hard drives regularly, so I have a lot of experience in the 'Put the components in the box' department. Always vacuum first: those darned fiddly little screws just want to get away and will hide under anything anyone dropped. Also make sure your magnetized screw driver is still magnetized before you start, because those darned fiddly little screws just want to get away . . .

Pics from my game: Sunbee's Simblr Sunbee's Livejournal
"English is a marvelous edged weapon if you know how to wield it." C.J. Cherryh
Mad Poster
#24510 Old Yesterday at 4:22 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phantomknight
Okay, so I'm trying to finalize my "realistic home elements" rules. I'm going to make it so that if the neighborhood has a winter season, then all houses/dwellings, etc. need a furnace (I'm torn between having this cost $3000 or Raynuss' original $4500) and also need a radiator in all main rooms ($200). But I wanted to give a discount for sims who use fireplaces. Idk if I should do a straight swap--either place a fireplace or furnace--with this I'm leaning towards no because not only would it not make sense to ever use a furnace, but also, how would other rooms get heated, without sticking fireplaces everywhere? My other idea was that if there's a fireplace, then the home could have a cheaper furnace or maybe a cheaper electrical panel? (All homes have to have an electrical panel, too, and since I have MustLuvCatz's single box versions of LivingDeadGirl's electrical cabinets, I'm making it so that different size lots need an appropriately sized electrical cabinets. The bigger the lot, the bigger and more expensive the electrical cabinet.)

Anyway, feedback/thoughts/suggestions are welcome. How would you handle the furnace vs fireplace issue?


The house I grew up in had a terrible furnace that almost never worked, so I grew up with a wood stove to stay warm in the winter, and we had a system of fans set up at strategic locations around the house to circulate air so that even if only the living room actually had a fireplace, the entire house could be kept warm by it... Just a thought!

Welcome to the Dark Side...
We lied about having cookies.
Mad Poster
#24511 Old Yesterday at 4:35 AM Last edited by CatherineTCJD : Yesterday at 2:07 PM.
...and I grew up in Florida. Most winters we turn the AC off, open the windows, and put on a sweater at night. Just sayin'
Quote:
Originally Posted by joandsarah77
I think Mootilda made a post about counters connecting or not connecting and how one side worked better than the other. It is definitely a thing. I can't remember if it was something to do with the direction of the sun like the driveway or something else.

Ah, yes... That makes perfect sense in a EAxian world: polar North would change connective properties.
Thanks, Jo, for remembering that

Please ~ support my TS2 habit! Shop at my Etsy shops:
CatherinesJewelry ~ Artisan Jewelry
Catherine's MOUSE ~ Up/Recycled Jewelry
and Vintage Stuffeths
Lab Assistant
#24512 Old Yesterday at 2:25 PM
So I just found this mod that makes it take longer for a sim to earn a skill point, which interests me as I used a longer lifespan.

https://s2idownloads.blogspot.com/2...-of-1-hour.html

There are options for 2 hours, 6 hours, and 28 hours, to gain a skill point.

But I am confused by this. Does it normally only take a Sim one hour to earn a skill point?

I thought that building skills was scaled - first skill point is easy; 10th skill point takes a lot longer.
Building skills speeds is also modified by other factors, like the season or how clean or playful a sim is.

Does anyone use this mod? Does it allow for the same scaling of skill building, but simply over a longer time frame?

Thanks
Top Secret Researcher
#24513 Old Yesterday at 4:01 PM
I can't say for 100%, but it does seem to allow for the same scaling of skill building but over a longer time frame. I used the 6 hour version for a pretty long time, and I liked it a lot. It worked well with my slightly longer lifespan (toddler, child, and adult were extended to 6, 10, and 35-40, respectively, and elders shortened to 15-30) and helped to curb overskilling at younger ages. Young sims could still be overskilled, mind you, especially if all they play with is skilling toys. But they have to be more dedicated about it, not getting distracted by other toys or activities. When it comes to preventing overskilling at a young age, I find that setting up some personal rules about using toddler skilling items helps more. For example, I now use a motivation system and only highly motivated sims can buy skilling items without a want, and that has had a greater impact on what my sim toddlers and kids learn. What I found the mod does really well, though, is slow the gain of higher skills. They're not impossible to get, but it will take some time and dedication to max. So if you're a simmer that really likes for teens to get a bunch of skilling scholarships, this may not be the best idea if you also want your sim kids and teens to have some free time.

I'll also add that while the slower skilling mod was okay in my normal hoods, in my challenge hoods where I set up a bunch of benchmarks tied to how many skill points sims have, it was way too slow. So slower progression for sure. But try it out and tweak it for your needs; Lientebollemeis has tutorials on how to make your own skilling mod.

Finally, I'll mention Simler90's mods, which I switched over to a little while ago. I'm still testing it out, so I can't say if the rate of skilling itself is better or worse, but I really like how my sims can earn more by doing. I've got mods to make cleaning take longer, make repairing harder, and making the skill gain from cooking better. So sims are actually gaining skill points from those things now. For example, I just restarted Veronaville and played Albany and Goneril's family. With both parents working, Miranda became the go to housekeeper, cooking and cleaning all the time and she's gained a couple of points in a week. Oh, that might be a good way to judge how long skilling takes. I played one sim week; I didn't change the seasons so it turned to Fall on the second day and I've a summer vacation mod for season 2, so that meant she and the other kids were home all week. So they had more time to skill than in a more typical sim week. Miranda's got 3 cooking, 1 mechanical, 3 charisma, and 4 cleaning and I believe she started at 0 skills. Only the charisma and maybe a cooking point or two were results of direct skilling commands by me (whenever she rolled wants to gain a point, I usually directed her to skill charisma). Everything else was gained by doing--cleaning around the house, cooking meals, and repairing a broken toilet. And again, it was Fall, so there was a skill boost, but yeah, that should give you a rough idea of Simler90's mod.

Anyway, skilling mods are trial and error. You'll just have to try it out and see what works best for you.

Simler90 mods I was talking about:
Skills-Badges-Cleaning-Repairing Mods
Cleaning Mod
Toy Skills Mod

"May the sunlight find you, thy days be long, thy winters kind, thy roots be strong." -Grand Oak Tree, DAO

XPTL Mod Archive | Change a Mod's Mesh into a CC Object | Increasing the Game Difficulty | Editing ACR 4 Your Age Mod
Bored? Read an unfinished legacy or sim story. | Kelyns on other forums
Field Researcher
#24514 Old Yesterday at 5:03 PM
Is there a way to edit a sim's number of want locks in SimPE? I know I could do it in-game with the sim blender, but seeing as how I like constantly restarting Pleasantview and sending everyone into aspiration failiure from their scripted fears, it would be easier to do it in SimPE
Lab Assistant
#24515 Old Yesterday at 10:56 PM
Do townies get reputation? It only seems fair, especially for the bullies.
Top Secret Researcher
#24516 Old Yesterday at 11:13 PM
Not sure about the townies and the reputation; I'm leaning towards no because I know in a vanilla game sims don't earn reputation on certain lots (at home, maybe?) And then I'm also not sure if the sim would need to be selectable. Without mods, townies don't save their aspiration points and such, so I'm not sure if their reputation data would get saved. In any case some mod I have from Pescado affects reputation as well (I think it's comm-skilling) so I think with that everyone gains reputation. Or at least my roommates do. It's pretty entertaining, actually. In one hood Camyrn Lee, who I made my sim's roommate, has a deep hatred for another apartment resident and if I don't watch her, she's always picking fights or loitering around to get beat up.

Sugoisama, I found this post about editing wants:
Quote:
Originally Posted by cakeninja
I think I figured it out. Go to the More tab, open Wants & Fears - you'll get a long list of wants, fears and history. To make things easier, you might want to deselect the "history" checkbox so you only see current wants and fears. Select the want you'd like to change, and use the options on the right hand side to select the new want for that slot, target of the want (if applicable - e.g. wanting to gain a specific skill vs. gain a skill point in anything, wanting to be best friends with a specific sim vs. wanting to make a new best friend in general), and aspiration/influence rewards for fulfilling it.


From there, you see the bunch of Flag boxes on the right hand side, if you scroll down a bit? I think one of them might be the locked flag and my guess is Flag 1 is the locked flag. I'm not 100%--I didn't try it or anything, but it was the consistent factor when looking at my own sims, and the wants I knew to be locked had that flag. So back up and try it maybe?

"May the sunlight find you, thy days be long, thy winters kind, thy roots be strong." -Grand Oak Tree, DAO

XPTL Mod Archive | Change a Mod's Mesh into a CC Object | Increasing the Game Difficulty | Editing ACR 4 Your Age Mod
Bored? Read an unfinished legacy or sim story. | Kelyns on other forums
Field Researcher
#24517 Old Yesterday at 11:18 PM
I'm using a bit "outdated" version of SimPE, where the wants are easier to edit, and I know how to lock wants there, but it still only allows one lock, and I'm trying to give them more locks in SimPE without opening the game and using the Sim Blender
Top Secret Researcher
#24518 Old Yesterday at 11:35 PM
Oh. I see. Well, you could try locking multiple things and seeing if that works, otherwise I think you'd have to give them the extra locks first, in game.

"May the sunlight find you, thy days be long, thy winters kind, thy roots be strong." -Grand Oak Tree, DAO

XPTL Mod Archive | Change a Mod's Mesh into a CC Object | Increasing the Game Difficulty | Editing ACR 4 Your Age Mod
Bored? Read an unfinished legacy or sim story. | Kelyns on other forums
Page 981 of 981
Back to top