Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Retired Duck
retired moderator
Original Poster
#1 Old 5th Jun 2005 at 1:08 PM Last edited by Echo : 8th Jun 2005 at 2:18 PM.
Default Programmer's Guide to BHAVs
Been seeing a lot of questions about recently asking about hacking and changing behaviors. This is a really slippery topic to write tutorials about, because the standard walkthrough style tutorial can only teach how to do one specific hack, and can be very hard to generalize beyond that particular example. So I had a go at writing a guide to BHAV theory, the bits and pieces that make it easier to edit BHAV files intelligently.

I am NOT an expert on BHAVs. Not even close! Absolute amateur compared to many people on this forum. This document just combines a lot of bits and pieces of information I garnered from this and similar forums over the last several months. So a word of warning - there may be mistakes in this document, but I promise I've done my best to discuss only things I was reasonably certain about.

Specific questions are welcome, (that is, "what did you mean by...?" and "could you explain this part in more detail?"). Generic questions are less welcomed ("how do I make an object?" or "where can I get SimPE?",) and are more likely to result in a polite redirection to a more relevant forum. Corrections, suggestions and criticisms are also entirely welcome.

This document is subject to future modification (in case I fouled something up!)

Thanks for listening, hope you all enjoy!

A Programmer's Guide to Behavior Editing
Attached files:
File Type: zip  BhavGuide.zip (85.9 KB, 6825 downloads) - View custom content
Advertisement
Instructor
#2 Old 5th Jun 2005 at 1:25 PM