Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Quick Reply
Search this Thread
Test Subject
Original Poster
#1 Old 12th Jan 2023 at 11:00 PM
Default Help Needed-Hair Meshing obstacles between Milkshape/Maya/Blender
This is my first time replacing hair mesh. Last week i realized i would need front bangs on Anto-Youth hair mesh, and decided to get them from Anto-Ines mesh, since they share same textures (for private use only, of course).
I followed this hair making tutorial https://modthesims.info/showthread.php?t=622787 with prior knowledge of linking and extracting steps from my accessory projects. After i collected mesh files and extracted them from Milkshape as .obj, i started working on them in Maya. First difference i noticed is that extracted Anto-Youth mesh had 3 differently named groups: alpha5, alpha6 and alpha7, instead bangs_l1, bangs_l3 and bangs_l5, despite project being based of Anto-Youth (and using same sims base mesh). I decided to keep them as is.

When i was satisfied with new mesh and new UVs/textures, i exported it as .obj and imported back in Milkshape. I replaced old groups with new ones, and first thing i noticed is difference in hair position and size relative to Milkshape skeleton. For some reason after being exported to Maya, mesh got bigger and changed position along Y-axis. Between .obj export from Milkshape and .obj import to Maya, something changed. I decided to keep testing regardless.
I assigned all fixed weighted vertex to head joint and proceeded to export to Blender for painting weights, as 5gd. Blender 2.9 can't import armature from Milkshape.