1 people viewing
Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Scholar
Original Poster
#1 Old 17th May 2006 at 10:09 PM Last edited by tiggerypum : 9th Sep 2006 at 8:34 AM.
Default Hair Meshing with MilkShape and UniMesh (Beginners)
Please do not post replies or questions in this thread - There is a thread here:
http://www.modthesims2.com/showthread.php?t=159824 for questions related to this tutorial.

This is a beginner's hair meshing tutorial, but it is NOT for absolute beginner mesh makers. It does not cover more advanced mesh changes, but will get you started with basics you must know.

Before attempting hair meshing, you should already know how to make up a new mesh .package and how to do a basic body mesh edit. You should also be familiar with using your 3d editor (MilkShape in this case), and know how to do a basic hair recolor. These are already explained in other tutorials here, and I will not be going over them again.

You will find the basic body meshing tutorial here: http://www.modthesims2.com/showthread.php?t=142305

There are now 3 body tutorials - I suggest doing all three before coming back for this tutorial.

And the hair recoloring tutorial here:
http://www.modthesims2.com/showthread.php?t=148742

In this tutorial, I am going to try to explain not just the "how", but also the "why" of the various operations. I think this will be more helpful, because if you understand the "why" you will be able to answer many of your own questions and solve the various glitches that are bound to happen.
Screenshots
Advertisement
Scholar
Original Poster
#2 Old 18th May 2006 at 6:14 AM Last edited by whiterider : 16th Nov 2008 at 12:04 PM. Reason: Fixing inlines
Default Getting Started
Before we get started, make sure you have the latest versions of MilkShape, SimPE, and Wes Howe's UniMesh plugins installed.