Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Quick Reply
Search this Thread
Test Subject
Original Poster
#1 Old 26th Oct 2019 at 12:20 PM
Default How about Chinese
Hello! I am learning Chinese and for practice I decided to start translating games. And of course I decided to start by translating the Sims. I would like to find people who also learn Chinese and with whom we can share our knowledge and discuss games. :lovestruc
Advertisement
Test Subject
#2 Old 12th Nov 2019 at 1:12 PM
Good luck with that, learning new languages is always interesting! I'm learning Japanese now and I use a lot of apps and videos for studying, also here is a good site for getting help in overall studying (I'm still a student and it's really useful for me). Anyways, I think it's a good way to learn with your favorite things.
Mad Poster
#3 Old 12th Nov 2019 at 1:59 PM Last edited by simmer22 : 12th Nov 2019 at 2:18 PM.
Correct me if i'm wrong, but doesn't the Sims games already have Chinese translations?
(For menus, textboxes, etc.)

TS2 has Simplified and traditional Chinese as possible languages (I have no clue what the difference is, since I haven't learned Chinese - and yes there are probably different versions of the Chinese written languages, but I guess they had to simplify the choices)
https://modthesims.info/wiki.php?ti...e_Game_Language

TS3 seems to have only Traditional Chinese, and I'm not sure about TS4 but I'd guess it has the same. No idea about Sims 1 (can't find any info on it), but my guess would be it does.

Maybe one option would be to change the ingame language to Chinese, so you could read the text boxes and navigate the game in a different language? It could be quite useful.