Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Quick Reply
Search this Thread
Field Researcher
Original Poster
#1 Old 7th Jun 2020 at 11:28 PM
Default Apply buff when sim performs an idle
Hello! I'm new to script modding (or any modding really, but I do have coding experience - not in C# though), and as my first fully from scratch mod (after reading tutorials and opening up others' mods for a while), I'm trying to insert a script that has a chance to apply some custom buffs every time a sim does the pregnancy idle animation. The way EA made the pregnancy buff work has always annoyed me, every sim shouldn't just be ecstatic about it the whole time, so I figured I'd give fixing it a try. Might be a little much for a first project but I figure disliking EA's handling of pregnancy as much as I do will give me more determination than picking something I have a smaller chip on my shoulder about.

From what I understand, I think a strategy for doing this could be to add an event listener initialized on world load that listens for the event of a sim doing the idle, and applies my buffs when that happens. It doesn't look like any of the events in the enum Sims3.Gameplay.EventSystem.EventTypeId have anything to do with idles, so instead I'm wondering if I could get the name of the last idle a sim has performed by doing something like this:
IdleManager i = new IdleManager();
string lastIdleName = i.LastIdle;
...and then add the buffs to a sim whenever lastIdleName for that sim is the one I want ("a_pregnancy_idle_rubBelly_x", if you're wondering).

So my questions are:
1) Does the above sound like an at least feasible approach to the goal I have? I really don't know the code for this game well enough to tell