Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Locked thread | Replies: 212 (Who?), Viewed: 111737 times.
Page 5 of 9
Lab Assistant
#101 Old 13th Dec 2010 at 10:24 PM
Pyronium3, do you think your going to still classify Setra as an Egyption world? Even though sims wont take taxis around regularly, I think the idea of the game spawning Egyption NPCs and neighbors would be so cool and seeing people drive around mopeds would be realistic for a middle eastern city as well I would think.
If only we could change certain parts but not others...
Advertisement
Test Subject
#102 Old 15th Dec 2010 at 1:14 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by happyjme
Pyronium3, do you think your going to still classify Setra as an Egyption world? Even though sims wont take taxis around regularly, I think the idea of the game spawning Egyption NPCs and neighbors would be so cool and seeing people drive around mopeds would be realistic for a middle eastern city as well I would think.
If only we could change certain parts but not others...


I don't think so, no. The Egyptian NPCs look a little too rural, and the idea I have for my world is a modern, multi-cultural settlement. Also, NPCs won't drive around on mopeds, only members of your household do. NPCs will walk everywhere; which also doesn't really fit in a city :P

I also wish it was possible to isolate one or two features, but alas, that's not possible (Yet)
Test Subject
#103 Old 16th Dec 2010 at 3:59 PM
Hi .

I posted in here about having a bug with a world that i was testing this resource with, it was having loading save problems, i finaly fixed it and just wanted to let you know it wasent the resource causing it, also the world im testing on has had no issues what so ever with the resource, all is working fine.

The ambient sound could that be related to the room markers, i noticed that there are options on them to change ambient sounds.
Test Subject
#104 Old 16th Dec 2010 at 4:33 PM
Yup it is the room markers just tested it out on one of my apartments, i turned all the sound setings down and left the ambient high and this is what im hearing in my apartment, doors closing, foot steps, voices, music, trafic and car horns.
4617·2^990511+1
retired moderator
Original Poster
#105 Old 16th Dec 2010 at 7:47 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yuffi3
Yup it is the room markers just tested it out on one of my apartments, i turned all the sound setings down and left the ambient high and this is what im hearing in my apartment, doors closing, foot steps, voices, music, trafic and car horns.

You mean the hidden room markers? Great, thanks for the information! That would make sense.
Retired
retired moderator
#106 Old 16th Dec 2010 at 8:50 PM
There are two ambient sounds settings when you shift + click the room markers. Sort of low or high income sound effects.

CAW Wiki - A wiki for CAW users. Feel free to edit.

GON OUT, BACKSON, BISY BACKSON
Test Subject
#107 Old 16th Dec 2010 at 9:33 PM
yeah the hiden room markers, the reason no one gets the ambient sounds in custom worlds is because when u copy lots from bridgeport to your libary all markers get reset to no ambient sound, bit like the fog emiters when they get reset.
Scholar
#108 Old 18th Dec 2010 at 9:17 AM
That sounds better to me. I abandoned trying this with my world because it has a town area and a country area and I didn't want city sounds on farms. It does make sense that it would be related to the buildings as then you could have different areas. Has anyone tested if the little residential area on the outskirts of bridgeport have the city sounds? If the sounds are build specific it would be more attractive to me.

Traffic though, it's controlling that. I'd like more traffic in a town area but keep the country area quieter. I like worlds that have a bit of everything.

My speakers are stuffed right now since getting a new hard drive in so I can't test sounds for now.
4617·2^990511+1
retired moderator
Original Poster
#109 Old 18th Dec 2010 at 10:14 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by kiwi_tea
There are two ambient sounds settings when you shift + click the room markers. Sort of low or high income sound effects.

Aha- I see them! On the hidden room markers, but not the others. So you can get apartment sounds as well as the traffic. Thanks Yuffi and Kiwi, I hadn't noticed that!
Rogue Redeemer
retired moderator
#110 Old 18th Dec 2010 at 2:09 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by fluttereyes
Has anyone tested if the little residential area on the outskirts of bridgeport have the city sounds? If the sounds are build specific it would be more attractive to me.

Traffic though, it's controlling that. I'd like more traffic in a town area but keep the country area quieter. I like worlds that have a bit of everything.


I think you can notice the difference of the sounds in Bridgeport when you move across the bridge to the residential areas. The city sounds sort of, fade away slowly and in the residential area, you can hear the birds and al the basic sounds.

I'm also wondering that same question as you about the traffic.. But when I think about it, there don't seem to be no more than a couple of cabs driving to the residential area of Bridgeport and around it.
Mad Poster
#111 Old 18th Dec 2010 at 5:23 PM
The taxis appear to simply drive from community lot to community lot from what I have seen in game. So if you have very few community lots in your residential areas then there should be very few taxis driving around there.

My deviantART, MTS Yearbook Origin ID = Alistu
4617·2^990511+1
retired moderator
Original Poster
#112 Old 18th Dec 2010 at 9:02 PM
And I noticed that trees seem to emit bird sounds, so that will give a more rural ambience.
4617·2^990511+1
retired moderator
Original Poster
#113 Old 22nd Dec 2010 at 1:08 PM
Please note- I uploaded an amended version of the resource with only the relevant byte amended. This should not affect your World description or thumbnail.

Please redownload from the first post if you wish to import rather than edit your world file manually.
Scholar
#114 Old 23rd Dec 2010 at 8:25 AM
menaceman, I have small village shops in my rural area but I don't want that area to have loads of traffic, I already have a mod to make the Sims walk more in these areas rather than drive. I'll test this as soon as I get my speakers working, still haven't had time to sort them out.
Lab Assistant
#115 Old 27th Dec 2010 at 10:05 AM
How should I set the hidden room maker to make the sounds good??
4617·2^990511+1
retired moderator
Original Poster
#116 Old 27th Dec 2010 at 1:42 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by LS_Bari
How should I set the hidden room maker to make the sounds good??

There are only three settings- cheap, expensive and off. I think cheap has more TV/ shouting sounds, but listen to them yourself to decide which you like best for your apartment.
Lab Assistant
#117 Old 27th Dec 2010 at 4:02 PM
TY very much ... too helpful as always
4617·2^990511+1
retired moderator
Original Poster
#118 Old 6th Jan 2011 at 4:32 PM
More info on the world identities courtesy of HugeLunatic:
https://sites.google.com/site/hugelunatic/ts3-misc
Lab Assistant
#119 Old 7th Jan 2011 at 9:33 AM
Hey simsample, Thanks for this information!
I am just curious, are you going to upload the Summer ville city world?
I am currently working on lots for it to change it into a city and changing it that way seems to be something better not attempted by noobs like me ;-)

Erwin.

smaller,faster,better....
4617·2^990511+1
retired moderator
Original Poster
#120 Old 7th Jan 2011 at 2:08 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erwinsims
Hey simsample, Thanks for this information!
I am just curious, are you going to upload the Summer ville city world?
I am currently working on lots for it to change it into a city and changing it that way seems to be something better not attempted by noobs like me ;-)

Erwin.

Do you mean Sunset Valley? If so then no, I won't be uploading that- it's easy enough to modify for your own use though.

Just follow the instructions I wrote, but in step 2 you need to open [Game Install Location]\ Electronic Arts\ The Sims 3\ GameData\ Shared\ NonPackaged\ Worlds\ SunsetValley.World instead. MAKE A backup of SunsetValley.World first though as you may need it!
http://www.modthesims.info/showpost...92&postcount=80

I'm a noob at this too you know- I've learned a lot from what people have posted in this thread!
Test Subject
#121 Old 16th Jan 2011 at 3:35 AM
I have been following this thread for some time and thought I would what the results would be for me.
I added the old package to a downloaded world Acorn Bay and fired it up. This is what I found.
(Have not tried the new code just yet.)
No description
Placed 8 Food truck parking places and 4 trucks on 4 of the parking lots and waited 10 sim hours. The trucks did nothing, so I saved and quit. When I started up again there were 3 trucks instead of 4 and they would move around to other parking lots at varying times. Seem to work just fine.
Taxis seem to be working.
Now for sounds.... I could not hear the Taxi sounds until I zoomed in on one. The sound is there just very low. Same for other city sounds. As I move out to the rural areas the sounds do change to rural as the city fades out.
I wanted to use some of the clubs in my world and since the lots are odd sizes I tried to add parking or put tiles up to the side walk and it tells me Homeowners assoiation rules do not allow this. I have a lot I downloaded also that tells me the same thing. Is this something new or is there something wrong with game and is there a way around it?
I am not a programmer or anything like that. I know a few basics that have helped me solve problems in the past and that is about it. I thought you might want some more feedback on this. I hope it helps.
Q.... How do I get the room markers to work...When I click or shift + click on them it tells me that I can't change them. I do have testingCheatsenabled turned on.

Thanks
4617·2^990511+1
retired moderator
Original Poster
#122 Old 16th Jan 2011 at 4:15 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamer007
IThis is what I found.
(Have not tried the new code just yet.)
No description

That's because you're using the old code I uploaded- which was ripped from Bridgeport. Try the new version instead, that just has the byte that is relevant changed and will not squash the world description.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamer007
I wanted to use some of the clubs in my world and since the lots are odd sizes I tried to add parking or put tiles up to the side walk and it tells me Homeowners assoiation rules do not allow this. I have a lot I downloaded also that tells me the same thing. Is this something new or is there something wrong with game and is there a way around it?

That's because if the building shells are used, the game automatically assumes that the building is an apartment and it prevents building. To get around that, turn on the testing cheats and then use this cheat:
restrictbuildbuyinbuildings false


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamer007
Q.... How do I get the room markers to work...When I click or shift + click on them it tells me that I can't change them. I do have testingCheatsenabled turned on.

What are you trying to change on the room markers? I think the only room marker that has an option is the marker for the hidden rooms- that one allows you to adjust the ambient sounds. The others don't have any options. If you want to change the room marker, just delete it and get one of a different type from the buydebug catalog.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamer007
I thought you might want some more feedback on this. I hope it helps.

Thank you, yes it does help! It's good to know that you have made this work in your game.
Test Subject
#123 Old 17th Jan 2011 at 11:13 PM
Thanks for your help simsample.
I have added the new code now and will be trying it out for the next few days. I have other problems with the the game that I will be working on too since LN has come out. Not for this thread....sorry.
Thanks again....
Lab Assistant
#124 Old 21st Jan 2011 at 6:11 PM
Oh, lucky me! I managed to save my first "subdivision" of my world, then finished it, then played that version, then did a lot of edit town/ real estate, trying to come up with a decent starting point I could maybe add to Mediafire. Now, rather than screw with the version I'm actually playing, I can open the subdivision, and try tweaking stuff. I had no idea I was planning in advance for stuff like THIS, because my world was built before Ambitions came out! I just thought, leave a lot of extra room, because if Sims 1 and 2 are any guide, there's going to be about 7 expansions here, and Ambitions is only #2.

I wonder though... I was told if you were playing a world, and later changed stuff, you'd lose all the saved games in that world. And yet, I renamed mine, and ended up with 2 worlds, both playable. So, on that note, I'm off to tweak stuff!
Lab Assistant
#125 Old 21st Jan 2011 at 6:16 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsample
That's because you're using the old code I uploaded- which was ripped from Bridgeport. Try the new version instead, that just has the byte that is relevant changed and will not squash the world description.


That's because if the building shells are used, the game automatically assumes that the building is an apartment and it prevents building. To get around that, turn on the testing cheats and then use this cheat:
restrictbuildbuyinbuildings false



What are you trying to change on the room markers? I think the only room marker that has an option is the marker for the hidden rooms- that one allows you to adjust the ambient sounds. The others don't have any options. If you want to change the room marker, just delete it and get one of a different type from the buydebug catalog.


Thank you, yes it does help! It's good to know that you have made this work in your game.


It's a bug/ feature I found in my game too. I didn't even know about the restrict thing till today. I just thought okay, game is being weird. It's a COMMUNITY lot, what the heck is with this "homeowners rules" stuff? So, go back to edit town, see if it's set to residential or community, it's community, so what's going on here? Go back to build/ buy on lot. Seemed to "reset" something there. Apparently, it had "forgotten" that it was a community lot, and simply doing that had "reminded" it. *shrug*
Locked thread
Page 5 of 9
Back to top