Replies: 5 (Who?), Viewed: 2843 times.
Field Researcher
Original Poster
#1 Old 30th Jul 2009 at 10:26 PM Last edited by JaneSamborski : 30th Jul 2009 at 11:24 PM.
Default Pattern Specular Test: Never Mind, Issue Fixed
IMPORTANT EDIT: This is totally superfluous now. Delphy figured it out. I'll leave this up as a warning till the packager is updated, then I'll delete it. LET THERE BE SHININESS!!!

Edit: Turns out I don't know how to delete the whole thread. So this little attempt will live on in perpetuity. Gotta love the internet.

I've been having problems getting Delphy's pattern packager to properly add custom speculars to my patterns. If it were just not working, that would be one thing, but its not working sometimes.

Delphy hasn't had much of a chance to look into this problem and I haven't had any really good examples to show him, hence this test. I'm no programmer, but I can crack open a package file and at least look for differences in the XML between working and not working patterns. I also have a theory that the program is not initializing properly all the time which may be a compatibility issue with certain computer configurations. Best case:I luck out and stumble on what is wrong; worst case: Delphy has plenty of data when he gets around to the problem.

You will need:

The current version of the pattern packager (1.3.0)
The .zip attached to this post, which contains the two .dds files you will use to build this pattern.

What to do:

1)Boot up the pattern packager
2)Hit File>New Pattern
3)Fill out creator details however you like.
4)Under pattern details, use the following information:

Pattern Tittle: TestSpecular *YourMTSUserName*
Pattern Description: TestSpecular *YourMTSUserName*
In-Game Category: Miscellaneous
Surface Type: Glass

5)Under pattern details:

Source DDS: TestPattern.dds
Number of recolourable palettes: 2
Palette 1: Select Med Grey from the picker (R=128, G=128, B=128)
Palette 2: Select Light Grey from the picker (R=192, G=192, B=192)