Replies: 14 (Who?), Viewed: 2222 times.
Lab Assistant
Original Poster
#1 Old 6th Apr 2013 at 5:15 PM
Default I want to create a mod to disable/remove the sound from the sprinklers
Hi!

I'm new to modding Sims 3, although I modded quite a few things back with Sims 2, hobby programmer as I am.

The sprinkler sound is driving me crazy. I have to have them on or else the garden dies, but it is not a real option to turn off all sound effects due to this since it seriously disrupts the game experience to completely mute all sound effects.

Do you guys know where I can start if I want to mod sounds? I didn't find anything about sound when looking through the lists of possible tools, plugins, programs and tutorials, and I've googled endlessly for different sound disabling methods, all I've been able to find is that other people have the same issue but no solution.

If you lead me down the right path I could do something useful for the community

/Linnea

The minds power over itself is great, what you make of things is what they become, change your thought and you change the world as you percieve it...
Advertisement
Mad Poster
#2 Old 6th Apr 2013 at 11:37 PM
The Sprinkler sound files are in the FullBuild1 file in your Sims3 installation in GameData\Shared\Packages folder. Open the Fullbuild1 in S3PE and sort it by Name and Tag, by clicking on those two words at the top of the columns.

Scroll down to the AUDT files and in there are several called Sprinkler. It's probably the three called "playa" and "start" and "stop" that you want, but I can't say this for sure. You have to try one in game, and find out which sound it removes, through experimentation.