Replies: 16 (Who?), Viewed: 5416 times.
Mad Poster
Original Poster
#1 Old 13th Mar 2015 at 8:10 PM
Default Windowed/Fullscreen Performance
Hi,

I've read a couple of threads concerning Windowed mode or Fullscreen mode, but they were mostly about what were people's playing preference. I'm curious if anyone actually tested the performance differences? I've read people claiming fullscreen performs better while others claiming windowed is better. Is the result that much different on different systems? I would think the concept should be universal.

Recently I started playing Sims 2 again and realized there were some lag issues. Problem turned out to be both using the wrong GPU and also in windowed mode. This is when I started testing the two modes in Sims 2 and later Sims 3. I usually play in windowed mode, so it never even occurred to me there would be a performance difference. What I found out on my system is that in both TS2 and TS3, the fullscreen mode is approximately 10-15 FPS faster. That is a pretty big difference!

Anyone else having the same results? Or if you have the opposite, what exactly makes it different? I much prefer windowed mode because I multi-task, but losing 10-15 FPS is hard to accept.
Advertisement
Theorist
#2 Old 13th Mar 2015 at 8:48 PM
That's a real bummer to hear especially for people on computer struggling to meet the requirements to play TS3. I usually play while screen sharing on a Skype call and holding down several conversations while also looking up guides, so I'm sad to hear windowed mode /also/ contributes to a performance loss on top of everything else. ~.~
Mad Poster
#3 Old 13th Mar 2015 at 9:52 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by nitromon
Hi,