Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Quick Reply
Search this Thread
Test Subject
Original Poster
#1 Old 29th Jul 2023 at 2:10 AM
Default Distant Terrain and Google Maps?
I'm a total noob to CAW, but I've been trying my hardest to create something that resembles Cape Town. Then I wondered whether it'd be possible to use Google Maps' 3D data to create either the map or at least the distant terrain...

So, here I am, wondering if anyone has attempted this, or if it's even in the realms of possibility (or simply lunacy).

https://youtu.be/F_XsmoZJmG8

There are resources to get it into Blender, but I'm just trying to see if anyone has attempted this yet?

Otherwise, I'll be posting my progress here. I'm a novice mesher, so creating my own distant terrain file from scratch seemed too daunting.
Advertisement
Instructor
#2 Old 29th Jul 2023 at 6:21 AM
It's more-or-less possible, sometimes getting the right data is just tricky. Last time I tinkered with it, access to Google data was behind an application to be on the waiting list. Not sure if it's a bit more open now!
Unfortunately, the location I wanted to recreate is very remote and sits on a border where the country on one half doesn't provide such data... so I had to go back to eyeballing it.

But here is a tutorial on how to create height maps from certain data. You can apply quite a few concepts here to data from other sources.
Probably some more if you Google around for general height map methods, not necessarily TS3 related. Cities: Skylines map tools and tutorials will have useful info as well.
[Edit to add a distant terrain tutorial link also.]

Distant terrain is the easier part if you have something in Blender, as it is just a massive object.